My Stand | Education Debate Challenge #1. Is a Degree Relevant in this Changing World?

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)


source

The ultimate answer to this question depends upon every individual, his or her unique life goals, and aspirations in life. And while it’s true that for some, obtaining a college degree is not important, however for me, obtaining your Bachelor’s degree used to be a way to stand out from others in this extremely competitive world.

So it is my contention that a degree is still relevant in this challenging world.

Please find the following arguments to support my position:

1. Positive Return on Investment

The way to achieve a degree is like putting up a business. You have to invest or set up a capital for you to start and work it out towards attaining the required return of investment.

However, the cost of a degree may be daunting. It is indeed expensive but for people who are determined to reach their goal, they may look for ways in order to support their needs.


Good that there are a lot of scholarships, study now pay later program, and a lot more made available for those who cannot afford to pay for their tuition. One can even work part-time, studying while working on the side.

And yes study shows that most of those who were able to obtain a degree believe that their degree has paid offs.


Thus while earning a college degree means a big commitment, the rewards are within reach and absolutely plenty. This led me to my next argument.

2. Higher Earning Potential


Image Source: https://pixabay.com

Supposing both a non-degree holder and a professional landed a job in a government office or agency, do you think those who weren’t able to obtain a degree will receive a higher salary than those degree holders?

It’s sad to say but it is a well-settled fact that the greater your level of education is, the higher you can expect your salary to be. This is the reason why those who even if already employed still go back to school if given the chance just to obtain a degree because truly, earning a bachelor’s degree brings with it a substantial jump in pay.


Image Source: https://pixabay.com

3. Increase Access to Job Opportunities

If anyone here happened to check the different job opportunities available online and offline you will notice that most of the jobs require college education. Even for sales clerks in malls or stores, most companies preferred college graduates.

This makes it harder for non-degree holders to get a job because the competition is stiff. Perhaps you need to have an excellent track record or experience and a powerful backer in order to surpass the other applicants which as I see it not anymore that effective during these times.

According to studies more than 80% of job opportunities advertised online require a bachelor’s degree. Again a very slim chance for those who are not college graduates to land a job they want and be assigned to a place they preferred to work. Meaning there is fewer opportunities and fewer choices for them compared to degree holders.

4. Networking Opportunities


Image Source: https://pixabay.com

Having a college degree expands your access to opportunities by connecting you to a lifelong network of colleagues and professors. This will pave the way to connect you to industry leaders whom you can explore new ventures.

This actually happened to me many times already. I can say I get a job so easily because of connections and of course because I am qualified for the job.

Having good connections to people around is a big help for us to get a job we want with a salary a lot of people dreamt of and of course this is likely to happen if you are not a degree holder.


Image Source: https://pixabay.com

5. Preparation for a Specialized Career

To serve the purpose of this post this is my last argument.

We all know that being a doctor or a lawyer or a priest is a noble profession. In reality, a lot of people dreamt of becoming one but not all become successful in fulfilling such dreams.

My point here is before one can pursue his or her studies to obtain a specialized career he or she must be a college graduate first. You cannot enter a law school or a medical school if you are just a high school graduate.


Image Source: https://pixabay.com

So there you go ladies and gentlemen, I may be able to enumerate more points to support my arguments but I need to end up here for the moment.

I just want you to know that I am not against those who believe otherwise, we all have our own personal valid reasons.

There may be a lot of people who are not a degree holder but are successful entrepreneurs but for me, it’s another story. Perhaps I will blog about it too in the future.

I would like to thanks @leoneil for bringing me up here, and to @homeedders, I really find the topic so interesting that even if I was so pre-occupied I really find time to create this blog, I hope I was able to impart significant points beneficial to everybody.

THANK YOU AND GOD BLESS!

Please visit my previous blogs:

Incredible Benefits of Singing - My Entry to the The Hive Creative Curation Contest Brought by Snibby the Cat!https://hive.blog/hive-173493/@long888/incredible-benefits-of-singing-my-entry-to-the-the-hive-creative-curation-contest-brought-by-snibby-the-cat
Spending Time at the Musical Instrument Shops in Sarawat Mall, Jeddah, Saudi Arabiahttps://hive.blog/hive-196308/@long888/spending-time-at-the-musical-instrument-shops-in-sarawat-mall-jeddah-saudi-arabia

Please support @surpassinggoogle as witness.
To vote his witness, simply visit
https://wallet.hive.blog/~witnesses
and type in "steemgigs" into the first search box for witnesses.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!


Vote for @threespeak on https://wallet.hive.blog/~witnesses or vote through HiveSigner


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

This is the first entry which is very much pro degrees. I was hoping we'd get a nice variety. 😊

Would I be right in guessing that you are in the Philippines? I notice many of the arguments are balanced towards the way certain country's systems work. What you describe here, with the need for degrees for nearly every type of job, seems to very much create a divide between those who can afford advanced education and those who can't, keeping an elitism well in place. It would allow for little chance for those in poverty to be able to raise themselves out of it, which I find sad.

Yes maam I'm from the Philippines. Here its like most of the people who hold higher positions in both public and private companies or agencies are those who have attained higher education, PhDs are receiving very high salary compared to those who are not even a college graduate who usually ends working in a construction companies asign in fields and so on.

Although there are a lot who excel in business who are not a degree holder, experience or exposure made them expert in their business.

Anyhow thanks for visiting my humble post, I 'd read yours and I truly agree with everything you say although as the initiator of this challenge said, answers of the questions varies and depends on where the author came from and in what culture they are in so I respect and appreciate all the answers of the other participants.

Thanks again and be safe always together with your family there in Australia.

God bless!

I agree on your stand that obtaining a bachelor's degree is very important. One example one of my close relative. She did not graduated in college for she married early. She is a bright girl, valedectorian in high school. Then, time comes his hubby no work, so, she worked. With her work skills, excellent. But, the boss can't level up her position as manager because she is under grad. She worked in Singapore. In this situation a degree is still the best option.

Yes that's how it goes here in the Philipines, there maybe some undergrads who excel in the field they are in but you can easily count them, compared with those professionals esp those who got masteral or Doctorate degree, they are like being put on a pedestal with all the benefits not to mention the salaries.

Anyhow congrats for being featured, I like your contention on the matter.

More power!

Nice post! Good to know you still made it before the deadline 😀

Thank you! And congrats for being featured.