The first time I saw sea lions

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Hello #hivers!
Today I would like to share with you the first time I saw sea lions with my own eyes!
Fuente

I like animals. Most of them, actually. There are some that I still can't stand and I don't know if I ever would (frogs,lizards,salamanders,worms,iguanas). Anyway, this post is about the ones I do like and those are marine animals. Dolphins, whales, seals, pinguins; I find them adorable. My sister had told me that here in Antofagasta, Chile, you could see sea lions at the fishing port. People walk around there, take them pictures; it's something common. When I knew about this, everytime the bus was nearby, I looked around to see if I could see one but I didn't have any luck.

But one day, I saw many people standing around and taking pictures. When the bus came across, the sea lions were outside the water. I couldn't believe my eyes! I had to see them closely and of course, take pictures of them.
When I got there, I saw there was a fence. You can't come too close to them because you have to respect their space.
IMG_20190924_122939250.jpg
This is the fence that protects them from going to the sidewalk and the road.

Sea lions are big and heavy! The one you can see here is the South American sea lion. They eat numerous species of fishes, octopus and squids. They can grow over from 1.8 m to 2.73 m and weigh up from 150 kg to 350 kg. Imagine having one standing just a few meters away from you!
IMG_20190924_140340751_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg
There were three outside the water that day.

And I'll show you the video I recorded. I love how relaxed and comfortable they look!


Even though there is a fence, sea lions have found the way to evade it and reach the sidewalk and even the road. What I like is that people respect them and don't do harm to them.
Fuente
This picture was taken almost two months ago when the quarantine started here. It seems like they were having a blast!

They interrupted the traffic yesterday because they were taking the sun in the middle of the road. This has happened before. Fuente

As you could see, they are always around. It's very normal to see them in the water, lying down on the rocks or in some cases, on the sidewalk or on the road.
I never thought I was going to see these animals so often as if they were dogs or cats. I hope when this quarantine finishes, I can walk around the boulevard again and stay for a while just staring at these marvelous creatures.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Congratulations @marvic-1194! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Loved this post!

Greetings-