Fear is the Mindkiller

in GEMS3 years ago

“I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.” - Frank Herbert

Today's session with Mental Health was about Fear.

It could be of anything a fear borne of trauma, of being alone, of the excuses you tell yourself, of the anxiety of being judged. In this fear is indeed the mind-killer.

We were doing a coaching exercise called Points of You.

"A cornerstone of the Points of You® method is the interaction between the right brain, the intuitive and emotional half of the brain,
and the left brain, focused on logic and analysis. This occurs when we look at a photograph and a word at the same time.

The photograph stimulates our right, creative, brain while the word activates the left, analytical, brain.

The simultaneous stimulation of the two brain hemispheres creates a struggle between the emotional and the rational,
momentarily “shorting out” the vigilant defense mechanisms of our mind.

This “deliberate confusion” gives the mind a short respite from our preconceived ideas on how things “should” or “ought” to be, and allows our mind to open up to new places inside ourselves, shifting our point of view"
timtradAIwlyvpQJ18unsplash.jpg

Photo by Tim Trad on Unsplash

This was the first time I encountered this coaching method and although I was open to the idea there was a hint of doubt as well as the facilitator gave us instructions and a set of pictures that would be our Fear, Impact, Reflection, and Courage cards. How could something random have any bearing on me.

So I picked my Fear card and it showed the word excuses with a woman with her hands raised, pushing back. Defining it in my head it could be the excuses I often tell myself each day. Excuses of not being good enough, of the doubts, that the demons in my head are always telling me whenever I wake up.

2nd card was my Impact card. This would be what my fear card is impacting that it stops me from doing whatever it is. The 2nd card was Focus, the image is of several chess pieces. Each piece has its purpose, each with its specific moves and contribution.

Okay, so my excuses could be making me lose focus on what my traits are, what skills and knowledge I have and what I can bring in to the table.

The third card was Trust with an image of red dusk with one person lifting another person up.

At this point, my mind was blown. Here it was my excuses were making me lose my focus and belief in myself and this picture was telling me to trust. Trust in the process, trust me and remove the self-doubts and second-guessing myself.

Lastly was Courage card. It says Timing with an image of a bird in flight. Timing is indeed important. You have to know when to jump and take flight but at times you just got to take the leap and go for it. Trust yourself, focus on the strengths, and do not let fear be the mindkiller.

Sort:  

Congratulations @maverickinvictus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 37000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 38000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Communities
Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting