Mave is 3 years into the blockchain

in GEMS4 years ago

Time flies so fast as I got informed that I am now three years in the blockchain.

I still remember back then when a friend who was into crypto got us interested in this new platform called Steemit.

A proof of brain concept platform where your words, arts and ideas can be transformed into cryptocurrencies that could be converted into fiat.

image.png

I loved the idea because I love writing and doing microblogging that would can turn into value while engaging socially was a win-win for me.

So there I was writing my heart out, learning tips and tricks from the veterans, joining communities and even getting myself to help in mentoring and guiding people who were new to the platform.

It was dizzying as there were so many contests, activities and events from various communities to join. Some were really making big money and they got to support charities, buy equipment and even fly off to meet other Steemians.

When there is big money there is bound to have envy and I saw people and organizations fight for dominance.

The downvote wars happened and witnesses and Steemians took sides. Reputations were lowered, some got trashed to oblivion and many quit.

Our little community was not immune to this infighting as the core disagreed on personal issues and I remember leaving and going solo for a bit.

There were still a lot of communities I go socially but never again would I hold a core position. I was satisfied in just being one of the Steemians.

One by one people left. Moved on to another project, or simply lost interest once the money stopped.

I still continued even when interactions dropped to zero. Then tragedy struck as the main computer I was using had its power supply burnt down. I did not have my logins saved elsewhere and so like that I abruptly stopped but not because I lost interest.

Fast forward to a month ago. When I was dusting off one of my old laptops to donate for online classes of less fortunate kids.

I booted this one and checked on the documents and there it was my Steem log ins! I was ecstatic as I got to log in, check things out, and got surprised that things changed.

It changed a lot. Steem apparently got bought by Justin Sun. The witnesses & people tried to limit his influence and then decided to make their own platform.

They called it Hive and from there people flocked to it and I made my way as well here.

At first, I was cross-posting to Hive and Steem. I decided, later on, to stop posting in Steem and just concentrate on Hive.

I asked friends who were once in Steem if they will consider going back to Hive and one said she sees it more centralized and controlling so could not support it.

When I asked her to explain she said she feels like that and then went silent.

I don't see it as bad as she did so here I am on my third year and still writing.

Here are to more years in the blockchain.