You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Foster Care

in GEMS2 years ago

This was a great read as always, Ingrid. Thank you for sharing your experiences. I don't think it's something I could cope with myself, it sounds too distressing.

According to them the fostercare system in Australia was a "legalised child slave trade"

I have actually heard a lot about the seedy side of child protective services in many countries, mostly due to the work @canadian-coconut via @familyprotection has done here on Hive and I have to admit I had hoped it wasn't prevalent here in Australia, but I'm glad you didn't try to sugar coat it's existence.

I think the majority of foster carers do wonderful job for these children and I'm a disappointed to read that they aren't always well supported by the agencies and even have their hands tied somewhat by them. It sounds rather like it's the agencies that might be making money from this system, rather than the foster carers.

Sort:  

When the agency states " in the best interest of the child" it actually means, in the best interest of the agency and their financial status. No... I won't sugarcoat it but there are many things best left unsaid. Most foster carers do a fantastic job for sure.