Sweet Potato Fries

in GEMS3 years ago

I will admit growing up I wasn’t the biggest sweet potato fan, nor did I pay much attention to sweet potato fries. I figured they were a “healthy” wannabe “true” French fry. Times have changed, now I absolutely love homemade sweet potato fries.

They turn out slightly crispy on the outside and nice and soft on the inside. And this baked sweet potato fry recipe is also fairly healthy. I still love classic homemade French fries, I mean how could I not. But now I appreciate and enjoy sweet potato fries as well.

If you are a fan of sweet potatoes or even if you are not, give this recipe a try. They are super easy to make and taste amazing. If I can do it, you can do it. Let’s get baking!

Ingredients

2 to 3 sweet potatoes
2 to 3 tbsp of olive oil 28 to 42 ml
1 tsp of salt 5g
1/4 tsp of ground black pepper 1g
1/2 tsp of garlic powder 3g
Optional ingredients also include paprika and chili powder for a bit of a kick.

Instructions

Wash and dry the sweet potatoes then peel them.

Cut the potatoes into fry shapes. The thinner the crispier they will be.

Place them in a bowl of cold water with a bit of salt. Soak them for 30 to 45 minutes. This will help remove the starch. Which will help them get crispier. But this step is optional.

Preheat the oven to 400 F/205 C
Drain the potatoes and then dry them with a paper towel or clean kitchen towel. Add them to a medium bowl or large ziplock bag.

Drizzle the oil over the potatoes. Then combine all the seasonings together and add that to the potatoes, and finally the cornstarch.

Add a lid to the bowl and shake, or close the bag if using a bag and shake. This will help evenly coat all the fries.

Line a sheet pan with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat. You may need two pans. Then spread out the sweet potato fries on the pans, don't put them too close to each other. Bake for 12 minutes.

Then flip the fries over and swap and rotate the pans to encourage even baking. Bake for 12 to 15 more minutes until golden brown.

Allow them to cool for a few minutes then serve. Enjoy!

Sort:  

I've always love sweet potatoes... boiled, grilled, or fried.
Have you tried it w!th sugar... fried?
To die for, @mrchef111!

Yeah they are awesome, especially sweet potato pie! haha no I haven't done them with sugar, but have definitely had them fried many times.