#ENDSARS: PROTEST IS THE NEW CULTURE

in GEMS4 years ago

First of all, I want to say a big FUCK YOU to every Nigerian on the hive blockchain who have been silent during this protest whilst pandering to people here for upvotes. FUCK YOU! And you disgust me. This is a pivotal point in our history and you've failed to use your voice to amplify the suffering of your fellow countrymen. FUCK YOU!

Today makes it a week I have been on the streets of lagos, protesting against police brutality in Nigeria. Yesterday was very emotional for many of us as stories where shared. Some too hard to believe. A said father had to search for his son's body in a pool of corpses. Now, you understand my frustration with anyone who has remain silent in these times.


THE BATTLE FOR OUR LIVES

Every day I go out to protest I have it at the back of my mind that I may not return. Many have not. Over 10 persons have been killed during this protest and counting. But it a battle we must all fight. I was on a bus today where an elderly man was talking down on the protest. Most old folks are uncomfortable sitting in traffic and indifferent about the killings and extortion by the men in black. People have shared horrid stories but that seems not to perturb the older generation and even some youths. Nevertheless, this is a course was fighting and dying for.

He who loves his life will lose it.

I don't deem myself an activist. For someone who is so fearful I cannot believe I have been on the streets for about a week now. The anger and frustration I feel outweigh my fears. I want a better country. For so long I have given up on this country but with the passion and drive I have seen in this movement I believe there is hope. I have seen the youth stand up the powers that be, fearlessly. It gives me the courage to carry on in this fight against an unyielding and corrupt government. This is more than #endsars, this is a fight for justice and accountability. Never again will the government run with such impunity. I am fired up in my spirit and I believe a lot of young Nigerians are beginning to see the power of protest.

Asides the esthetic of being part of a protest which is becoming a trend now in this part of the world, and many have questioned its unconventional nature, it is a privilege to be part of a worldwide movement. Nigerians across the globe are protesting, demanding justice and accountability. This is the first time in my lifetime such is happening. The boldness and cleverness by which this protest is carried out are unmatched. I am truly proud.

Every other thing in my life currently has taken the backseat. My apologies to my fellow hive members, I haven't been following the developments here. The truth is there are more important things than huve at this point in my life. I am just using this blockchain to document this phenomenal event. I do not know what the outcome might be but I am happy that for the first time in my lifetime Nigerians across the globe are fighting for their rights and good governance.

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

It's really a proud moment for us. Nigeria is not hopeless after all