COMPLETED MY 100 DAYS OF CODING TODAY.

in GEMS4 years ago

So I started my 100daysfcode on the 8th of June and today marks 100 days of coding (I think). My journey so far has been confusing. A lot of trials and errors. I started not knowing what I actually wanted to achieve. All I had in mind was to change my career path. I figured learning how to code would afford me more opportunities than my degree in insurance, which isn't even good enough to get a decent job. Rather than spending that time, finance and effort accumulating professional certification I thought to fancy my chances learning something I deem to be the future--programming. One of my major prompt to getting started was a friend who got an internship without any prior degree in computer science. He is a self-taught programmer and he encouraged me to do the same.

My major challenge was getting a laptop. I had so many responsibilities that often eat deep into my income. Plus, I didn't want to get something cheap. I was fortunate to get a loan from some friends that enabled me to get a decent laptop. It saved me the hassle of saving for one. I probably would still be trying to save up for a laptop if I did not take the loan option. Though I have to pay through my nose for it, I consider all the experience and knowledge I have gathered during these past 3months worth more.

I had a lot of expectations getting into this new field. I had watched many people's success story.

How I became a web developer in 3months
Learn Javascript in two weeks

I thought I would replicate such feats within this timeframe given my curiosity and passion to learn. The first month was quite eventfully. My entry point was C#. I found a C# course on skillshare where I learnt basic programming concepts. I switched to python which seemed easier than C#. I never did anything with them.

At some point, I needed some structure. I was basically learning random things without being able to apply them. After much research, I discovered freecodecamp which has been my guide. I followed their course diligently for some time until I got stuck. Then I opted for video-based tutorials which made my learning experience better.

Through July and August, I tried to master my HTML and CSS skill. I also dappled into JavaScript which I will spend the next 100daysofcode mastering.. unfortunately, I did not turn out to be the super programmer in 3months. In fact, I still feel very inadequate but nevertheless, I have come a long way. Rather than rush through courses, I decided to spend more time perfecting my knowledge on core concepts. I believe it will do me good in the long run.

Two tutors I have found very instrumental in my growth will be The Net Ninaj and Traversy Media on youtube. I did buy The Net Ninaj's JavaScript course about a month ago because I loved how he explains things. Traversy on the other hand has a lot of useful projects on his YouTube page and I only started to practise when I began watching him. Most new programmers get stuck in tutorial hell which slows their progress. Personally, if I had spent more time doing code-alongs I will be better off than going through a course several times.

For the next 100 days, I will be focused on JavaScript while I perfect my CSS skill via code-alongs. I believe the next 100 days will be more productive. First of all, I am familiar with a lot of programming concepts. My major task is to consolidate and apply my knowledge.

I never thought I would say this but I am enjoying the process, even more than I enjoy writing these days. I have no doubt that this is my future. Cheers!


Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

I believe that over the past 6 months many people have been in various states of flux in having to look at new avenues to earn a living,. Some changing tact alltogether, and some just improving on what they alrady know.

The current worlwide situation has given us all the opportunity to look to further study and development.

It was spoken about 5 months ago when the world was first going into shutdown and we can still have this conversation today. You took the bull by the horn and have now completed 100 days of learning a new skill and now have the knowledge that can start applying this tool to continued learning and no doubt application in the weeks to come.
People like yourself become our developers of the future

Thanks for sharing your post with us @nonsowrites

#thriveonhive

I have selected this post for the Hive Helping Highlight today to encourage further engagement

helping banner.png

Nice accomplishment learning so much coding in only 100 days. I would be years on this I think. lol I think this is a great skill to have in these days because pretty much everything has something to do with a computer or smart phone.

Cheers to more better and productive days ahead..

Congratulations on your accomplishment... Starting a programming career without a laptop is really starting from zero... Maybe you aren't a professional programmer after 100 days of learning, but you have a nice base for future growth!

Continue with pushing, and you will get there!