From The Bottom Of My Heart, a Poem

in GEMS4 years ago

buddhisthell2123927_960_720.jpg

text16.png

If I could, I would
take your pain
and ball it up like snow
until it hardened into ice
and then I...
would throw it at you,
dear,
and shut you up!

What would I give
to end your pain?

A bullet!

text16.png

I wish I could say I wrote this myself, but the truth is I had very little to do with it! My part in it has merely been to recognize it as spectacular poetry, center it, and publish it.

I was confabulating with @carolkean yesterday. We were both voicing our frustrations with persons in our lives, good naturedly of course, because we are both saints. Donate body parts kind of saints. Lifetimes of servitude kinds of saints.

Carol, master of the freewrite, freewrote the first eight lines of the poem above. This was followed with chuckles and a few self-deprecating comments along the lines of "How horrible am I?!" from the both of us.

Carol knows my love of haiku and she then tried to wrangle a haiku out of me by writing the last three lines all by herself. Together, her two poems make a beautiful piece if you ask me. Snarky, honest, and funny! I loved it enough to publish it, with @carolkean's permission of course. She doesn't think she can write poetry. What do you think?

The title is mine, and I hope you find it punny.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

image by @wales, Dean Moriarty

Sort:  

#ThankYou Stacey for your kind words and clever tweaking/formatting, and the title - LOVE the title. :)
Me, a poet?
Only you can show it!
#RescueMe again!

Well lookie who is able to comment on a peakD post!

You see? You can't help but spout poetry! You're a poet but you don't know it, you're Longfellow!

Ok, I posted a reply, and it never showed up.... whassup with that.... I upvoted, and it's now showing up, though I'm told I did in fact upvote. Hive, Steemit, PeakD, none of it works for me. -_-

I think this might be a glitch in the recent hard fork. It says I have no comments at all, I'm just lucky to have seen these. Your upvote (thank you!) is there too.

Aha. Turns out I was not logged in....(???)... now i see comments/replies.