You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Abstract Photography | Intimate Landscape Photography

in GEMS3 years ago

Oh, my father in law would llove to see this and you will be amazed at what he can tell you about these rocks Hannes. He is a geologist (retired now)
I have bookmarked this post to show him when they visit again.

You've got the waterflows spot on and beautiful my friend.
Another great post here!

Blessings!

Sort:  

The rivers there are full of such rocks.
I am sure I could find more about them on the website of that valley or the road, but although it would be interesting that's knowledge I would forget anyway 😉 lol

Thank you so much that you like my post, Zac 😄


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Each of the layer lines that you see explains a different time period of settled rock Hannes.
The old man can even tell how it was formed and the type of rock materials.
He gave me a tree that was turned into rock, a fossilized rock, but I forgot to load it when we moved here.

Rocks are interesting my friend.

A pleasure to like your great posts!

Cheers and thanks!

I know a little about it because there were so many things we learned at school, but some things like these layers and such stayed in my mind ;) You can see that in the mountains too, only much bigger.
We have found quite a few stones with fossiles or better said with their imprints, like shells or snails in the mountains. That tells us that our mountains have once been the ground of an ocean :)


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

So amazing isn't it?
To think that the monolith mountains were once on the sea bed.
At least you remember something that you learned at school 🤣
I only remember the one young beautiful teacher!

I think that you might know a bit of the history behind our Table Mountain.
It's thought to be one of the oldest mountain in the world.

The Alps are reckoned at 40 million years old.
Table Mountain is 240 million years old.

https://www.news.uct.ac.za/article/-2015-03-09-33-cool-facts-about-table-mountain

"uct" in the address means the university of Cape Town.

Cheers and thanks.

Yeah, the Alps might be relatively young compared to other mountain ranges, but they might still be here when the table mountain will be a small island in the sea again ;)


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

The way we are going my friend, maybe all of the mountains will cease to exist.
If the Ters ever lay their hands on atomic weapons, we will all be in shtuck.
Besides that we have many other destructions of the planet to worry about.

Cheers and thanks!

When these mountains go, new mountains will grow.
When we destroy the nature she will destroy us, take a rest to recover and then give it another try ;)

Good morning Zac,
I am back at work and in an hour I'll move to the other office where I'll hopefully find some time, but for now I'll try to reply to as much as I can and leave the mountain of work as it is :)


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.