New on Hive

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

My name is oluwaponmile, I am a Nigerian and this is my first post on Hive.

Screenshot_20200712-131746.png

Its been long I wrote an introduction post and it took me a while to figure out what the Hive community will be interested in reading about me. Anyway here is my official introduction, please read on.

I studied food science and technology in the university but I have only practiced for few years. I have been more involved in content writing, social media, book publishing, freelance writing, editing and volunteering.

I joined steemit in November 2017 and that was my first encounter in blockchain technology and cryptocurrencies. I must say that I really gained a lot. The experience was wonderful. However, I took a break because of the ups and down the community faced then especially as a result of the challenges steem faced. Also to crown it all, I got married and had my first child. So I got occupied and keeping up with posting daily amongst the other things I do, became difficult.

Between working for my employer from home, raising my daughter, freelancing, taking care of the home, running an NGO and singing in the choir, I have been super busy. But I try to keep up with my work and also update my blog . Yes I have a blog- BrownySays.blogspot.com

Why am I back and On Hive?

I have missed the blockchain community, making new friends on the blockchain and of course earning on the blockchain. So when my friend @dante31 again told me about Hive I decided to jump on the train. Here I am.

What will I be Sharing?

Like I wrote above, I run an NGO - Women For Liberty Africa, along with my colleague, Lilian David who is also a Nigerian. We are a growing group of young ladies working tirelessly to raise and encourage more young women who will be ready and equipped to work and campaign towards change and development in Africa. Currently our numerical strength is about 45. I will be sharing stories from some of our outreaches, seminars and webinars. Here is a picture of some of us when we joined a campaign against rape last month.

IMG-20200611-WA0002.jpg

Some of the women at an event

IMG-20191013-WA0010.jpg

Here is also a picture of me speaking to a group of rural women when we held a health seminar teaching and giving to rural women.

IMG-20191209-WA0049.jpg

Asides from my NGO, I work as a content writer and manager for a social media platform Parrotrelease.com and a subsidiary of the same company ParrotAutoTrader.com which deals with sales of automobile. I will be sharing some stories and personal experiences related to my job.

I have an adorable daughter. She is 1, I will introduce her to the community someday. My husband is a talented artist, maybe I will share some of his works here too.

Also I manage to read a lot every week, and this is because I write summaries professionally. You can be certain that I will share snippets and interesting facts from some of the books I read here too.

Finally, I sing in the choir in church and now that churches have partially re-opened in some parts of Nigeria , I have resumed singing in the choir. I will share stories on that too. This is me leading the choir in a song.

IMG-20191110-WA0006.jpg

I seem to do a lot right? Yes.. I have never liked being idle or doing less. I think I will just stop here. By now you know a lot about my activities and you know that I'm someone to look out for her posts on this space.

I remain Oluwaponmile and I'm glad to be on Hive.

Sort:  

Happy you have found your way to Hive. Looking forward to reading your posts.

Cecicastor! So good to hear from you again..

Welcome to the hive blockchain. We have a community of active Nigerians on hive-minaj who are willing to help you on your journey.

This is our discord channel:
https://discord.gg/RB4CQnt

We will love to have you.

Thanks..alright

Welcome to hive.
Remember me when you are rich.

Loool ....you

Such a busy bee.. Welcome back!

*smiles. Thank you