Street Food from Christmas Market, Kharkiv || Recalling Memories...

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Before coming here in Ukraine, I had no idea about Christmas and how people celebrate it. I am from Bangladesh and we don't celebrate Christmas so it was obvious, that I didn't have any knowledge about Christmas before 2018. I only saw pictures, some videos and heard about Christmas tales but never experienced in person.

Well, This is not the Holiday season I know but I am sharing my experience here... Because for the first time I saw how people celebrate Christmas and new year here in Kharkiv, Ukraine, and I have gathered some experiences of culture... I was scrolling my phone gallery today and found these pictures of last Christmas...

I have shared many pictures of Holiday season including videos before. But I didn't share the food from Christmas Market which I have tasted on last Christmas. Basically these are street food but you can also say food from temporary stores...


20191223_165647.jpg


Last year I and my friend, went to the biggest Christmas market in Kharkiv. Actually, it's not the biggest but the Christmas tree was the biggest and the entrance was beautiful. Every year this central zone of Kharkiv turns into a festive zone during the holiday season. People all over the Kharkiv come here to celebrate Newyear and Holiday season.


20191223_163311.jpg

20191223_163314.jpg

20191223_163317.jpg

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png



This was the sitting area of the Christmas market, in the picture you can see it. This was a very traditional market. Many stores full of Christmas decor were available but prices were high though. Some were selling Christmas candy, toys, socks... But most of them were food shops and drinks shop.


20191223_162004.jpg

20191223_162001.jpg


My friend and I spent almost 3 hours walking here and exploring all the shops. Some stores were selling some kind of drinks which I never tasted before. Of course, root beer was one of the highlighted drinks.

I don't eat pork so it's hard for me to buy food from any restaurant/shop. Finally, we found a shop where Polv and Lentils were available. Also, they were selling shawarmas as well. The shop was from Afgan people. Anyway, I bought and tasted their Polv, it was good. Polv is a kind of rice which is served with some meat.


20191223_163301.jpg


Later we found a grill bar where they were selling BBQ chicken, beef, and Grill chicken. Also, the kebab was available.


20191223_163254.jpg


20191223_163255.jpg20191223_163304.jpg20191223_163308.jpg

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png



This was not a 100% halal shop for Muslims and it is foolishness to expect halal food in the Christmas market for myself. Anyway, we ordered the chicken grill and Lavash (roti) and waited for 20 minutes. It was cheap compared to other food shops.


20191223_163759.jpg


Honestly speaking I was not happy with the chicken pieces. They were too dry and kind of rubbery. Maybe overcooked that's why sauce didn't work for me at all. And the Lavash was hard like a biscuit. It was crunchy and the overall grill lavash combination was worse...

I should have taken root beer instead...

Worst food I have ever tasted in Kharkiv but nothing to do...


20191223_165750.jpg

20191223_160712.jpg

20191223_160715.jpg

qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png



Despite having bad food, I and my friend really enjoyed exploring the market and our girly gossip. I was watching my old videos today and saw this Christmas video as well. Because of lockdown, everything changed now but this sweet memory made me laugh and smile. Especially the face which I have made when I saw my food... Hahaha...

Memories never die... We just need to call them to make us smile again...

I wanted to write this post long ago but I forgot... BUT IT'S BETTER LATE THAN NEVER...



qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png


Explore Life with Priyan...


DSC_0610.JPG

Love

Priyan...



"I am @priyanarc.... An architect, a dreamer, and a passionate writer who loves to write about life. I try to present my own perspective and experiences. Please leave your feedback and criticism because it's the only way I can know and reach your mind and thought easily..."



Find me on youtube
Don't forget to subscribe to my channel...
You can find me on Twitter


Original post written by @priyanarc

All the pictures used are captured by the author...



Snapchat1407797301.jpg


qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZk9NVAZuEFF6kwTcNnyLQzJMZ8Nd2tyTgjA2ugbViLGaJGFaXXz917DUgGveyrbHPHkh3HBYAgUv.png

ezgif.com-optimize-min.gif

Sort:  

It looks like an interesting food market. Thanks for the virtual tour, @priyanarc! 😎

Ya it is interesting and I felt really good walking around and exploring it.
Overall it was a nice experience except tasting that food :P

Christmas is a good chance for giving and bonding as a family especially over food.

!tip

I completely agree with you...
Have a nice day and thanks for your support...

Hello dear friend @priyanarc good afternoon
Too bad you could not enjoy dinner, it looked very delicious.
I loved the color of the place, all the diversity, it seems that people enjoy a lot.
Here in my province Christmas is magical, it is the most awaited moment of the year, here the religious part of the holidays is highly valued, I would love for you to spend a Christmas in my land, you will never forget.
Thank you very much for letting us know all this information and the beautiful photographs
have a wonderful night

I know the holiday season is magical and Kharkiv celebrates very traditional Christmas. I have seen many countries come up with excellent ideas for Christmas, on that note Kharkiv is nothing because Keiv is more diversified according to the celebration...
Ya the food was worst and I couldn't enjoy because of the dry chicken...
I hope you are doing great...

He leído toda tu publicación, no tenia idea de que habían países que no celebraban la navidad, ¿esto se debe a las religiones? que interesante este país, se ve muy bonito en todas tus fotos, lastima que el pollo haya estado malo :(

He leído toda tu publicación, no tenia idea de que habían países que no celebraban la navidad, ¿esto se debe a las religiones? que interesante este país, se ve muy bonito en todas tus fotos, lastima que el pollo haya estado malo :(

Debido a la religión, algunos países no celebran la Navidad, las comunidades religiosas individuales celebran la Navidad personalmente pero no oficialmente. Ese pollo fue peor, para ser honesto ... Gracias por leer ...

I also have no idea how Christmas is celebrated. There are many peoples who celebrate Christmas though but I've never seen the celebration from my eyes.

And what about Santa? Doid he really came?

Of course, Santa came for everyone, and trust me, kids really enjoy spending time with Santa. Obviously, Santa is a belief and most kids enjoy his appearance. I can understand why you couldn't gather experience of Holiday Season. Hopefully, one day you will be able to gather some experiences about holiday season.

Thanks for stopping by and have a nice day bro...

Yeah I've many things to learn yet