Tomato Glut Tales - Green Tomato & Red Onion Chutney

in GEMS3 years ago (edited)

GT&REC.png

Everyone who grows their own veg have different favourite recipes they turn to when they experience that first world problem of a glut 😂

Many allotment keepers and homesteaders know the disappointment of planting their tomato plants too late and ending up with a glut of green tomatoes at the end of the season.

Last week I discovered one of my hanging basket tomato plants had blight, so I had to cull it from the greenhouse to prevent the blight from spreading. This left me with an overabundance of un-ripe green tomatoes.

Some people can stomach green tomatoes in a salad as a crunchy addition to their favourite leafy greens, but they are rather acidic compared to ripe tomatoes, and with my chronic gut condition they actually cause stomach cramping if I try to eat them raw.

So, one of my favourite ways to make sure I don't waste these green tomatoes is to make a rich and tangy Green Tomato & Red Onion Chutney.

20210908_153852.jpg

Green Tomato & Red Onion Chutney

This is an easy recipe, with most variants including apples. I personally prefer to leave out the apples, instead including a few extra spicy ingredients to make a more dark and oniony chutney.

This chutney really is tasty, sweet and very similar to caramelized red onion chutney you can buy at the supermarket. It goes well with cheese and crackers or as an addition to any tomato based sauce.


EQUIPMENT

Stainless steel pan
Clean and sterilized jars

INGREDIENTS
Makes One Large 500g Jar of Chutney
  • 500g Green Tomatoes (1.1 lbs) skinning is optional
  • 500g Red Onions (1.1 lbs)
  • 75g of Dried Mixed Fruit (2.6 oz)
  • 3 Garlic cloves
  • 1/8 tsp Chilli Powder or Cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp white mustard seeds
  • 1/8 tsp Black pepper
  • 1 tsp Sea salt
  • 250 g Brown sugar
  • 500 ml Malt Vinegar

4steptoms.png

INSTRUCTIONS ☝️
  1. Chop the tomatoes, onions, and dried fruit roughly and mince the garlic.

  2. Place all wet and dry ingredients into a stainless steel pan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and then simmer uncovered for between 1-3 hours. Depending on batch size and heat level, it can take up to three hours. Keep an eye on the mix and stir occasionally.

  3. Once the chutney has reduced down and appears thick and brown it is ready. It took around 3 hours for me but the time can vary according to quantities and size of pan used.

  4. Spoon the chutney into warm, sterilized jars and seal with lids. I reuse supermarket jars for the preserve and water-bath the jars after they're filled.

  5. Water-bath the jars (see video below) to ensure that they're fully sterilized. The lids will seal as the chutney cools – you’ll hear a pop as the seal closes. It may take twelve or more hours for the seal to take.

Tutorial from official Kilner Channel


NUTRITION

Serving: 1Tbsp          Calories: 35kcal          Carbohydrates: 9g          Fat: 0.1g          Fiber: 2g


Enjoy with cheese and freshly baked bread 🙂

20210908_131251.jpg

All media in this post was created by me unless specified below. If you have enjoyed this blog recipe, please do check out my home page @raj808. Thanks for reading.

Footer_raj808.png

If You Have Found Value From this Post and Want to tip extra, Crypto Donations Are Welcomed:
►Donate Ether and ERC20 Tokens: 0x32321615174AF3Da6074Cf79DED8269cA7a8eB24
►Donate Bitcoin: bc1q8wutj8u6ush7s8mucphfxf7gzrexeywmuqm8g3
►Donate Bitcoin Cash: qzt7c0czw0q988h93jvcz2rq5gy0s3h9pg2pk700ev
►Donate Litecoin: Lfsnz3pbT5V9N6WWGRaBsgKs9EvFeqzcPm
►Donate BNB: bnb1xeu94exteel9w3g8g44e6g595kvrqlgzm0crq4
►Donate Monero: 49PovXGcM9Y7JYeRJ35W9xZGrdivvLaMbVtGc3WDv6amCm5wqA854SvJNWxaEqjTz18K5YVPj5D6619C3bvNHsrG7oD1whb
►Donate Tezos: tz1SJUkpeznKE6bEhbX81YFdUQS5BprA4ot8
►Donate XRP: r35quYTThThN7yNvkJxyhLFAPyju3tsT35

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I love a good chutney I do. There are lots of figs here, sticky fig and caramelised red onion is a favorite of mine to make. Thanks for this recipe. I hope you are doing well my friend xxx

I'm not too bad Aishlinn, same same but different 😂

That sticky fig chutney sounds delish! I do love a good chutney. My idea of a Christmas treat is less a tone of chocolate and more 7 different cheeses with crackers and a bunch of chutneys.

Glad the recipe is coing in useful for people, it does make a decent chutney and you can double up on all the amounts to make more if you have loads of green tomatoes 🙂

Yum! We had a bumper tomato crop last summer. They just grew from compost. Anyways we moved house in January and still had a bunch of green tomatoes on the vine so we also made green tomato chutney. It turned out great - it was absolutely delicious on a cheese sandwich ;-)

Hi Mrhill

Yeah, I'm a big fan of the cheese and chutney sandwich too. My idea of a Christmas treat is less a tone of chocolate and more 7 different cheeses with crackers and a bunch of chutneys.

Good to hear others are rocking the green tomato chutney goodness 🙂

I am impressed. What a wonderful skill. And great fun, also. Your allotment is a valuable part of your lifestyle.

Enjoy your chutney!

Yes, the greenhouse on my m8's allotment keeps me sane and active sometimes 😂

Also, helps to keep me healthy with the produce and the digging.

Oh yum! I have never made chutney. You have inspired me, @raj808. I need to give this a try. We will have green tomatoes dying on the vine within a few weeks, so your post is very timely!

Hi Jayna 🙂

I'm glad the recipe is going to be useful for people, it does make a decent chutney and you can double up on all the amounts to make more if you have loads of green tomatoes 🙂

P.s. I'm going to put up some more green tomato recipes soon 👀