35 Years Later: A Different Sort of Anniversary

in GEMS3 years ago

This blog was originally started as an accompaniment to our now defunct local art gallery, The Red Dragonfly.

But long before there was the Red Dragonfly, I had a different gallery/shop, back when I was living in Texas. Earlier, I found myself looking at the calendar and looking for some old pictures... and realized that today is actually the 35th anniversary of when we opened our shop in Austin, Texas!

RD0162Leaf.jpg

It's truly amazing how fast time flies by!

That store lasted 13 years, but ultimately couldn't survive a recession, the shopping center operator going bankrupt, the adjacent street being turned into a 6-lane highway and various other setbacks.

I thought I had a bunch of photos from back then, but I was unable to find any. Maybe I put them somewhere "for safe keeping" and then forgot where that was. It happens.

It's surprising how many businesses die as a result of "external circumstances" rather than "bad management" or just having a poor business concept.

RD0167Aster.jpg

I suppose we are seeing a lot of that these days, with all the restrictions and limitations and lockdowns caused by Covid-19. I find myself being extremely grateful that I am not in the art gallery business, these days.

That said, I still enjoy following what's going on in the art world, and what's developing on the business end of art.

For now, though, this is just a quiet observation of something started 35 years ago.

Thanks for reading!

20201020
H0007/0243
All images are my own