You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My real life story about homelessness and how I coped with adversity in my life

in GEMS3 years ago

What a great story, glad you've got your own place.

Need more like this as the simply truth is that life can just be a damned struggle sometimes.

It's depressing that what stressed you out the most is not living in your workplace, which seems perfectly nice and comfortable to me but fear of other people finding out as this isn't normal.

Makes total sense to do so, when the only other option is to go into debt or live with someone you don't get on with to afford the rent.

How did you explain the lack of to and fro and certain times of day/ night? Surely the other salon owners nearby would have thought it odd that you never 'arrived' or 'went home' - these events tend to sync at least some days!

Anyway, glad you're sorted now!

!PIZZA

Sort:  

Hello! Yes, the thought of people finding out was the most scary thing and depressing for me to experience. I came to consider it quite ok , but the fear of judgement was so crippling for my mental state. I often woke up quite early in the morning to get out and do my shopping and this is how I made sure I was seen coming. Funny enough, after a while I realized that people are so concerned with themselves that they hardly ever notice or care what other people do. So it is quite possible some never realized the oddity of the situation. I find this to be the most depressing thing in our society right now, as a neighbor might die and it would take days until someone noticed or cared about their absence. I often found myself asking the same question, what if something happened with me, would those strangers even notice?
I also believe that we need more truth as social media is a display of sadness covered in fancy make-up and instastories which cover the reality of a depressed life. Most people are not as happy as seen on the screen and I believe we could encourage each other by revealing our true struggles rather than pretending to be just fine.
I am super grateful for everything and God is with me in everything I do. Thank you for reading this, I appreciate it!

I think it's a bit different in the UK - there's plenty of people with too much time on their hands looking to bring others down.

However if something bad happened to you most people actively try and avoid noticing I think.

Now I'm depressing myself, no, there are some decent people still around out there!

The problem with being truthful on social media is that it's a case of everything to lose and little to gain - better to educate people about how unreal the environment is.

I think most people know this, but reminders can't hurt!

There are good people on Earth still, I strongly believe in this, I think that it is the lens with which we decide to see the world the one shaping our reality. Now I choose to see the good in people and avoid those with negative vibes, our time on Earth is too limited to do otherwise

Oh I agree about the lens.

One of the best videos I've ever seen on the matter:

Every time I share this I can't help but rewatch it!

I listened to the video and I loved it, thanks so much! I like how he makes conscioussness look so simple to understand. I believe that we need more people like him in order to spread the word and make humanity understand why we are really on this Planet. When somebody puts the bigger picture in your face then you can see how our existence must and is beyond the petty annoyances with which we consume and distract our mind

Glad you liked it, he does do an amazing job of explaining things very simple, also he doesn't ram spirituality down your throat which I like - it's very much 'this is a world view, I think we should try and validate it' not 'this is the truth listen to me'.

Certainly a lot of lessons in there!

I think that people who try to convince others fail to do so while those who don't end up being more convincing than everybody else. When the student is ready the teacher will appear. I know from my personal experience how exhausting it can be to try and convince someone of anything (God knows how I tried oh my) and I guess you know too : the more you try to convince the other to believe or do so and so, the more they become stubborn and choose to do the opposite. People cling to what they believe not because they truly believe it but because of the sense of identity they get from identification . If they let go to a belief, then who are they? I have been in such place too, as often we can become stubborn as mules just to irritate the other person trying to do the convincing. Here he can see the Ego, the big underground player of our lives. I continue to do ego work in order to become a better me. And awareness and conscioussness thrive once the ego is tamed.

@creativemary! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @revisesociology.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/20)