Lock Down Day 73 - Proud of my Fellow South Texans at Grocery Store but Not at Bar

in GEMS4 years ago

corona today 1.jpg
Source

We went to Walmart and HEB grocery stores today. I was so proud to not see ONE single person without a mask on.

Listen...

I know there is no guarantee you will not get or transfer the CoronaVirus by wearing masks. But it does increase your odds in not getting or giving it. I looked down every aisle in these stores and everyone had a mask :)

My oh my things changed when we went to pick up...

carryout at Wing Daddys. It's a popular wings bar that we love so much. There was a couple of dozen people who were sloshing back drinks without a care in the World with no masks on at all. And not staying 6 feet a part ( more like 2 or 3 feet apart at the actual bar)

I guess people will do what they want to do...

and there is only so much I can do. I tried to remain 6 ft apart from the nearest person but my order took like 20 minutes ( which was 20 minutes too long in that establishment)

I will say it was just a tad reassuring that all the waitresses were wearing masks. Just wish the patrons had enough respect to do the same !! Or at least practice social distancing

Sort:  

Last time I went to Walmart only about 40% had masks on.

I figure the next time I go out there will probably be 10%. People are letting up here even when 900 cases popped up in the next county over in a single day from the meat packing plant.

Really sad, Brian

I am from Russia and we are not allowed to go to the store without masks, at least in our city.If you meet the police, they will write a fine.

Good for you guys, @magnata

Talking about the facemask some people still find it difficult to even put it on despite the precautions on it.

They are not helping situation really

That is pretty horrible. We aren't even lucky enough to have everyone wearing masks at the grocery store. I actually expect the number of cases in our area to go up over the next couple of weeks. I am going to write a post about why in a little bit...

Look forward to seeing and reading that post, @bozz. Thanks

It was actually the one about the flooding. I posted it and totally forgot that I didn't add that bit in. The long and the short of it is with all of the evacuations and people being forced to stay in shelters most likely in close proximity to each other, I wouldn't be surprised if we had an uptick infections.

We act cool when there is no sanction, but when there is a form of punishment we obey the cause and the what is necessary. We are just set of people with different mind set