Magic scroll and natural material study

in GEMS3 years ago

sc.png

Today's stream I tried the scroll again. Last time I wasnt be able to paint the paper the way I want it. This time its better but I still need to study more paper texture in the future. To be honest paper part was the easier part of the two main thing for this asset. Other one - the hard one- was the blue effect. Mine looks like burning :)) I want it to have a magical feeling, like magic comes out of the scroll, but couldnt get it right, i'll study more. You can see steps down below, as well as if you want to watch me paint you can go on Twitch.tv and watch the video.

Watch the video HERE

sc2.png

Apart from the scroll, I wanted to study more natural material like wood and steel/metal surfaces. I think I understand wood better then metal surfaces. I still struggle painting metal. Metal surfaces are reflective therefore has more relationship with light. I must learn more about light and how it reflects on different metal surfaces.

If you watch the video you can see me painting wood and metal separately and attempting to make a Shield. I quickly abandon the idea of the shield when I realize how bad I am at painting metal. Before attempting to complate a piece again I need to paint more metal surfaces.

I was having a headache during the stream and a bit tired, maybe thats why this one is not productive. Alltough I look like I am down or tired, most of the time this is my normal face. I look serious while I work alone. Anyway, i'll be back with more painting exercises and more tutorial study.

See you next time.

pp.png

Follow me on twitch and instagram

sc3.png

Sort:  

Seeing as it's blue and the paper isn't burning it does give a good impression of magical fire, so if you just weanted a magic effect I'd consider it successful, but I'm guessing this isn't quite the magic effect you were going for :D

close enough but i was after more of a soft blue radiant without the flame part. i'll experiment more and look for magic effect tuotrial. Maybe there are special burshes for it ^^