My sisters Birthday in lockdown.

in GEMS4 years ago

Everything is Possible

IMG20200610195750.jpg

Yesterday was my sisters birthday. She turned 10. Although it was her birthday, she was upset. When I asked her the reason, she told - due to corona virus we aren't able to go out and celebrate, neither can I call my friends and have a party. Even thought its my birthday, I will not be able to enjoy it that much.

That was when I thought I will try my best to make her birthday a day to remember.

  • I started off by looking a chocolate 2 layered cake which seemed easy to make, but later on I realized it was hard. After that I thought all of her favorite snacks. Then I headed out with my father to bring the stuff for the cake and bring snacks that she loves. I had to find about 5 stores for the snacks she liked. It took me about a hour to get all the stuff. Once I got all the stuff I came back home and started making the cake batter. It was really simple. All you need is 2 cups of cake flour. (You can make cake flour by mixing 2 spoons starch and shifting it so the cake doesn't have lumps) Then about 4 tbsp of coco powder. You then mix that and shift it a couple times.
    Then melt a 100g of butter and combine 250 grams of icing sugar (icing sugar is nothing but powdered sugar). Mix that until it becomes fluffy. Then add 3 tbsp of yogurt, 120 ml of milk and some vanilla essence. Then take about 150 ml of hot water and mix instant coffee powder. (You need instant coffee since it mixes well and premium coffees wont mix well) Add that into the mixture. Then pour the dry ingredients in 2 batches and keep mixing. Once done you will end up with a very nice cake batter. That's how I made the cake. This is a chocolate sponge cake. Then for the frosting I used non-diary whipping cream powder. I think its available at most stores. You simply mix that and keep it in the fridge for 15 mins. When you first mix it, it will be watery. But after its 15 mins in the fridge it will be fully cream. Now you need a electric mixer to blend that until its fluffy, it took me about 5 mins. If you don't have a electric mixer you can still whisk it with a hand whisk but it consumes a lot of time and effort. Then add even more icing sugar so it has that sweetness. Then you can add in any flavor you like, or even color it with food coloring . Now bake the cakes in two batches for 35 mins in 180 degree
    celcius. Let it cool down. Then put the first layer down. Generously fill it with your whipped cream, then put the second layer and press it a bit, Then cover the cake with your whipped cream. You can also add chocochips as toppings. That's it, a simple birthday cake. I will leave a final picture here.

IMG20200610195242.jpg

  • Then I bought some snacks like cheese potato fries, smiley face fries (smile faced potatoes) and and french fries. I am leaving some pics of the final outcomes.

IMG20200610195257.jpg

IMG20200610195634.jpg

IMG20200610200144.jpg

  • She gave me a warm hug and told - you are the best brother in the world. Then we enjoyed a bit, watched some TV, played some games etc.
    The most important part is that she had fun and that I could make her day special. That was it, then we slept and back to our regular schedule.

  • I couldn't post it the day itself because I had to make all the stuff for her birthday, so I didn't have time to post.But here you go.I hope all of you guys have a good day ahead.

Sort:  

good work lil champ.. nice dishes you made for her. best wishes and take care dear.

Thank you so much.