Stop Making Hive Another Steemit Community

in GEMS3 years ago (edited)

img_0.3887111212872295.jpg

It's been two months since I've been using this Hive community, so far so good. I was a regular steemit user for years. I've learnt a lot, met so many great people but I observed something odd going on here.

I've been thinking whether should I speak out and just put in my mind forever without talking. But finally I wanna speak out and wanna talk about my experiences here.

I heard hive was built by bunch of great people, it's a group effort, it sounds pretty good but as the days goes by I observed there are many people with so much hive power acting pretty weird, I'm not saying everyone doing same but most of users do not care about newbies and their opinions.

If this community is only for people with high Hive Power then it's gonna be another steemit at the end. Community should value everyone's opinions irrespective of their HP. Most of the community members here are mostly minnows, i guess 80% of this community is small HP users.

There are some Whales here, they do not care about comments under their post. Most of the minnows comments get ignored. They probably think these people are greedy and want upvotes on their comments but it's their need, they just trying to bloom their light in this huge hive forest. It's okay to ignore comments that just says " great content ", " good work " etc but I saw many good comments get ignored too.

Whales behave they just here auto curate and give their opinions but not to produce quality content

Tell me how many people curate posts here manually? I guess it's probably one or two whales. Not more than that.

Most of the whales content is all about their opinions on hive features and judging others.

They put pressure on the small fishes to produce quality content, where as they do not post anything new. Yes, ofcourse their posts are pretty huge with so many words but it's all about mostly their opinions and judging others. It should be changed.

Fail to Guide Newbies if they make mistakes

Newbie means someone new to this community and learning things day by day. They do a lot of mistakes and slowly learn as the time goes by. I saw old users being very rude to newbies if they make any mistake. They directly flagging the content without even giving a warning or guiding them properly. It's all takes 1 comment and probably 30 seconds time to guide them. But most of them directly flag the content.

Ofcourse it's their right to do what they want but being kind to someone new makes the community positive.

Stop Having Beef with another Hive User

Respect everyone equally, we all know this community is full of people from across the world with different cultures and different backgrounds. Try to to respect them. Sometimes their opinions are pretty different from yours, it's all about perspective, do not judge them. Take it if you like it and ignore gently if you don't like it.

Conclusion : Please respect everyone equally, value everyone equally. It's not only others responsibility to create quality content, it's everyone's responsibility to create good content irrespective of their HP. Reply to the comments gently and do not ignore good comments. Try to curate content manually to make it more interactive community.

Note : I have nothing against whales and minnows here, I just want to speak out my opinions. Probably some people might do not agree with post, some people might agree. I welcome everyone's opinions in the comments. Please let me know if I made any mistake in this post.

Sort:  

what is nice for me is that there is lots of people from different place and cultures here. Let all fish do what they do including the whales!

Most of the whales be like ," I have so much high power, whatever I do, whatever I speak is matters" idc about small fishes. Pretty sure small fishes are more gentle than big ones.

there is a reason small fishes stick together in the ocean....

This all can be change in time. Example since u are also a #dbuzz user also imagine that dbuzz make a successful onboarding and we will have 1 million new user. Lets say all of them will get 50HP. That is a huge amount and I was calculating just with small numbers. So Hive will change for sure, but I always recommend people to use it as a centralized social media and just be happy if they get a vote.
Most of the people come here because they wanna earn. I always wanna ask them how much they earn on twitter or FB. :D This is the key.

Most of the community have their own tokens apart from hive. I'm pretty there will be more people using if there was a dbuzz token.