Will The Next 5256000 Minutes Be Any Different From The Last For You?

in GEMS4 years ago

How seriously do you think about where you will be 10 years from today?

On the surface of it, that question may seem flippant. Is it really though?

Screenshot_2020-06-19 Steven’s.png

Unsatisfyingly, the answer is yes and no... Let me explain what I mean by that.

If you merely think to yourself, I wonder where I'll be in ten years, will I live in a bigger house, will I have a better job, will I be buying Lambo's with my huge heap of crypto gains?

Then move on with your day, grab a coffee and some curried goldfish flavour pop-tarts then and watch TV, yup... That was pretty flippant, right?

If however you think deeply about this, considering the improvements you want to make in your life, think about the goals you want to hit, the way you want to grow as a person, then I would venture to suggest that, yes, that's pretty profound, right?

If you've read my blog before, you'll know that I am a thinker. I ponder many of the vagaries of life, wonder how I and WE can move forward as a species in the most productive, improvement based, mutually beneficial way for all.

I keep referring to myself as almost 50... In actuality I am on the doorstep of 48 but sometimes, rounding up can help focus the mind, right? You know that thing about psychological milestones and barriers. Shops sell things for 99 cents/pence a new kitchen or car ends in 995 never 000 as if we are still foolish enough to fall for that old marketing trick, but they still do it, that suggests something, right?

So I have gone the other way and rounded up my age to see if the impact in my mind is any more significant, I think it is.

That means that when I look at 10 years from now, I have 60 in my mind. Let me tell you I do not consider myself as being 10 years from 60 or even almost 50 lol. I think there is a lot of relevance to mindset when it comes to self perception when it is related to age. It's not quite as simple as that tired old cliche that people trot out at milestone birthdays, 'age is just a number', but there is certainly some truth in it.

If you have stumbled across my writing before you have likely read about some of my goals, I share them often, there is something cathartic and maybe even empowering about committing them to the blockchain, putting them out there for all to see. I believe this makes me a little more accountable too, after all nobody likes to not be accountable to public goals.

So again I ask the question, how often do you really consider the future with regards to the things you would truly like to have, to achieve and to become?

I highly recommend pondering exactly what you want in the next 10 years, when you've done so, decide where you would need to be in 5 years to be on track. What about measurable progress for 3 years, 1 year, 6 months... When you have done this consider what you could to this week to start the ball rolling towards at least 1 or 2 of these aims.

Success is not great big epic achievements, it is all about the small incremental steps taken along the way, it is about the disciplines and skills that we learn, master and harness to propel us along the way with confidence and a steadfast knowledge that we are on the right track.

I always like to know what people want from the adventure that is life. I always like to know what people most desire, the goals that drive them or do not as the case may be. So many times I have talked to people about this and when we dig a little deeper, the people who say they have no goals nor the desire to set any do so from a place of nihilistic apathy, as sense of 'I will fail anyway so why bother'.

your dynamic future UPDATED, RESIZED banner..png

This is sad to me because I believe every single one of us has the potential to have all those wishes, wants and desires come to fruition. We must actively decide what they are before this could ever happen though. You cannot decide to travel from A to B without a road-map because the ensuing result would be leaving A and ending up somewhere entirely different to B, yet most of us drive aimlessly in life, just crossing our fingers and hoping to wind up some place better.

Do you have a goal you would be happy to share here today? Do you have a perspective on where you will be in 10 years from today? Do you have a reason that goals don't interest you? I would love to know. Your thoughts may just help others too. So do consider adding to the conversation.

Thank YOU for taking the time to read my post and if you're one of those amazing people who like to hit the comments section... Then I doubly thank YOU!

Either way I want you to know that you are appreciated!

Keep taking the time to connect with each-other both here and in the so-called real world and try and look after each-other, because as you already know...

Together We're Just Better.png

image.png

I am a proud member of the newly formed #TeamUK I love the global community immensely, but it is nice to have a home-team banner to add to my posts. The banner was made by the inimitable RoastMaster General himself @c0ff33a If you are an active UK member and would like to be added to the teamUK community on Discord, just let me know 😎

Sort:  

I rarely think about the future any more, because 10 years down the line things have changed and goals have changed to match. I guess I worry I'll be disappointed if I imagine a rosy future and it doesn't happen. I'm just hoping we can pay off our mortgage in 10 years.

I know what you mean. The disappointment of not achieving our goals can be a bitter pill BUT the idea of not evolving weighs heavy on me. I think also that goals evolve with us and change as we make strides in the right direction, sometimes what we thought we wanted can change in the face of reality.

I'm 48 almost and do not have a mortgage yet lol. It will happen before the end of the year. I will receive a large discount from the local authority as I have lived here for 25 years+ I have made a plan to pay it off much much faster than the initial term. Initially I thought 10 years and then I thought what if I set something up online to make a small extra income that can maybe be scaled in time and divert every extra penny to the mortgage?

In light of this plan I am looking at somewhere between 5 and 7 years.

Thankyou so much for stopping by to share your thoughts it is massively appreciated. I dare you to make even 1 goal, I believe in you wholeheartedly :)

Hi @stevenwood,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

#posh
Have you joined the Hive onboarding and awareness campaign yet?