A few shots in Oak grove Cemetery

in GEMS3 years ago (edited)

A mono Walk through the Cemetery

As I have mentioned before where we live now is close to an old cemetery , and I if I feel like a quick walk and don't feel like driving anywhere its a spot I walk through, Some I know find cemeteries dark or gloomy, but I don't find that I find it relaxing walking through there, and these are a few shots from some of these walks

Starting with this headstone


Mono in Oak-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 118mm F6.3 1/100 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And following that up showing the whole memorial where this angel sits

Is Memorial the right word, I think its much more than a tombstone, but not sure memorial is the right word. neither is monument but as I sit here preparing this post I am having a total brainfade as to what is the right word to use, Luckily I guess I would hope I am better known for my photos than the words I put with them LOL


Mono in Oak-6.jpg

Sony A7iii 33mm F6.3 1/100 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Now this next one I think I know the right name for, is one of the vaults in the cemetery, complete with a fence built around it.

Even though I do enjoy my walks through this cemetery, and my Wife has thoughts at times of how she would like us to be buried there, thats something i am not sure is for me, when my time comes hopefully in many years I think I would like to be cremated and havemy ashes spread in a water feature, whether the sea or a rive, and if people wanted to visit my resting place they could just head to the water anywhere, rather than a fixed spot in a cemetery with the headstone slowly worn down over the years.

But lets get back tot he walk here is another vault

Mono in Oak-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 27mm F6.3 1/250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


followed up with simple headstone


Mono in Oak-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 46mm F6.3 1/400 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And to finish of a last shot with a splash of color


Mono in Oak.jpg

Sony A7iii 122mm F6.3 1/640 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Mono in Oak-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 39mm F6.3 1/250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.646271 lat -70.942870 long Oak Grove Cemetery New Bedford MA d3scr

Sort:  

Walking through cemeteries does generate thoughts on being buried or cremated. I have decided on cremation, it is cleaner and I like the idea of being out in the open.

Exactly If one engages he gets !ENGAGE 25 from me

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 55 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
11

👍🙂👍!PIZZA is nice but even better with !WINE or !!BEER

Connect

Trade


@pixresteemer! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @tattoodjay.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza


Hey @pixresteemer, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I like the old cemeteries that have the vaults and mausoleums like that. It gives them a lot of character I think. Most of the ones around where I live are just headstones. I agree with you, I think I would rather be cremated. It's just my body anyway, I won't need it anymore.

Mausoleum, thats the word I couldn't think of when making this post lOL

Thanks for the visit and have a great day

very nice clicks. i really like your editing the those flags too.

Posted via neoxian.city | The City of Neoxian

Thanks kind of you

You probably know that I love wandering through the peaceful beauty of the cemeteries. I love the older ones that many older towns have, The statues, the heartfelt messages, all of the angels and mausoleums that may have one person or a family. The many vaults I see were popular at one time, it bespoke of the grieving with the stone chambered burial vault used. I believe people equate the magnificence of the burial with the love felt.

A beautiful post. Let's do this again. ;)

Have a great week ahead!

Thanks and yes I know you like wanders through them like I do
Have a few more shots and no doubt will get more as I walk this way often

That is great! How lucky to be so close. I remember you said that when you bought it,
now that I think about it.

I am glad you are getting out a little bit, the weather is pretty amazing right now.
Thanks, JJ! I hope you and Lulu have a great day!

It was nice this morning Lulu had a Drs appointment then we went out fir lunch and planned a walk after lunch

Best paid plans of mice and men clouds moved in and it got windy maybe another day

I think we are going to have semi-inclimate weather for the rest of the week. But, you know how that goes. It will probably be amazing out!

Plenty of good stuff coming up. Hope that Lulu is improving at a steady pace. ❤️

Yeah we have to go with the flow

Lulu is improving day by day

I couldn't be happier!

I like such places, although I'd think a little different in a dark night 😉

If I would live there I would visit the cemetery every single day to talk to the people there, because they listen.

I completely agree with you and I want to get burned too one far away day. They can do with the ashes whatever they want, spread into water or better use it to fertilize the flowers in the garden, so they always think of me when the flowers bloom 😁


!BEER and !WINE and !PIZZA - perfect 😃
!invest_vote

That’s. Nice idea with the flowers had never thought if that

!PIZZA is nice but even better with !WINE or !!BEER

Connect

Trade


@johannpiber! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @tattoodjay.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

At home we used the ash from the wood stove in winter on the icy pathways around the house, and fertilizing the flowers was another way to use it ... and it sounds much better to me 🤣


!ENGAGE 30
Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Ohh yes I remember doing that at n uncles farm

I agree I do like that idea

!PIZZA is nice but even better with !WINE or !!BEER

Connect

Trade


@johannpiber! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @tattoodjay.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

😊


Cheers and !BEER but no !PIZZA left I'm afraid
!invest_vote

Connect

Trade


@tattoodjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Connect

Trade


@tattoodjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I was just by the cemetery yesterday.
Once in a while, I drop by for unknown reasons, hehehe!
Looking at your photos, I think I know why.
Angels and crosses and mausoleums...

That could well be the reason 👍🙂👍

I believe the first questionable tomb/headstone is referred to as an antizombie escape device. You see it has an angel on the top, said angel is looking down at the ground keeping watch for any body parts trying to escape from the grave, maybe it is an antivampire device.

Some nice shots i do like that one of the angel.

That’s an interesting take on it
👍

Awesome photos as always!! Out of curiosity, how did you get the SBI upvotes?

Thanks
I have been sending to Steembasic income for quite a while now so have quite a few shares

If you check out there posts @steembasicincome they explain how it works

Old established cemeteries have graceful headstones with lovely words, I am in agreement with you, one day spread me to the four winds after all I won't be here. Star dust!

Exceptional photography once again in detail, have a wonderful day!

Seems many if us think that way
Thanks 🙏

Cogito ergo sum
!BEER

Been is long time since I heard Cogito ergo sum

!PIZZA is nice but even better with !WINE or !!BEER

Connect

Trade


@cloudblade! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @tattoodjay.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza


Hey @cloudblade, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @cloudblade for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.