Bored at home series - A souvenier from Ireland

in GEMS4 years ago

Bored at home series - A souvenir from Ireland

I have picked up many souvenirs in my travels over the years ( as a side note when I say I have traveled a lot to put it into perspective I have been to over 60 countries and that's only counting countries I spend more than a overnight stopover) and many of them are packed in boxes up in our attack as I didn't really have space to display them here at the moment, but this one was for years on my work desk in the office, and now sits on my computer table at home.

1 1 bored at home series lucvk of the iirish4.jpg

Sony A7iii 90mm F3.2 1/60 Sec ISO 1250
Click here to view larger


In case its hard to read here is what it says,

There are many good reasons for drinking
one has just come into my head
If a man cannot drink when he's living
how the hell can he drink when he's dead

and this is the little character on top of it, not sure why but if I am ever having a bad day I look at this little character and cant help but smile

1 1 bored at home series lucvk of the iirish3.jpg

Sony A7iii 90mm F5 1/60 Sec ISO 2500
Click here to view larger


Part of the detail on it the Luck of the Irish coin, and yes I noticed when I was editing these photos I noted it was pretty dusty and have since cleaner dit up :)

1 1 bored at home series lucvk of the iirish2.jpg

Sony A7iii 90mm F4.5 1/60 Sec ISO 5000
Click here to view larger


and of course to fit with the saying a bottle of Irish Stout is fitting on this little souvenier.

1 1 bored at home series lucvk of the iirish.jpg

Sony A7iii 90mm F4.5 1/60 Sec ISO4000
Click here to view larger


Even though I cannot have alcohol these days as I am on blood thinners I still love this one and keep it out in view on my desk :)

And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


Sort:  

Something about quarantine makes us LOOK at the objects and debris of life we've chosen to surround ourselves with, no? 😆 But yes, drink and celebrate the moments, I say. It being beer-o-clock on a hot Monday evening in Thailand. 🍺

Some days here i would have loved a beer, I was a big beer drinker especially on nice days, but for now water does it for me dang blood thinners

Cheers and !BEER

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 6 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
2

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @pixresteemer, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I know you can no longer drink, but, sometimes the memories are better than the real thing. (Especially when drinking like an Irishman!) :)

Happy Monday! Have a great week!

!tip

Ohh trust me a Kiwi man was as bad a drinker as an irishman at times LOl, but in all honesty i really do not miss it that much at all

you to have a great week

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Beautiful Sunday And Sublime Memories Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

That is pretty cool! I really like the detail they put into it. What an awesome little keepsake to hold onto. That is a pretty cool little saying too.

Yeah I do love this piece and back when I was a beer drinker i loved the message lOL

I love Ireland!

Me to did a few visits there

Haha, this is so cute!

Thanks it sone of my favorite souveniers

I can see why :)

Cheers have a great day 👍🙂👍

I hate souvenirs, but some are cool and certainly not cheap things sold for much money. Your Irishman looks not cheap and I like his smile, especially the saying suits the Irish very well I think.

How can an Austrian know that? Well, my first girlfriend has been Irish - she has been working as an au pair in Austria, and man she we drank a lot of Tullamore Dew and Bushmills Malt to name a few ... we drank as if every day was our last day 😉

Even if you're not drinking anymore, the Irishman and the luck coin near you brings you luck, and if not, then at least his smile will make you smile 😊


!tip
!Cheers and !BEER

I picked up a few here and there often when bored at an airport waiting for a flight lOL

Ohh yeah the Irish doe like a !BEER for sure, and i am a good part Irish LOL

and for sure it does make me smile

Yeah, we also buy always a souvenir when we are somewhere on holidays or for a visit or so, but most of these dust catchers find a place somewhere in a box in the cellar ;)

Have a nice evening and a good night JJ 🙂

Cheers and !BEER

A lot of ours are in a box in the attic lOL
and you have a good day tomorrow or today when you read this

Cheers and !BEER

Right, and it's already almost afternoon here ;)

Good morning JJ,
we have sunshine and rainclouds outside, so I don't know if I'm gonna get wet in the afternoon when I ride home, and a lot of work in the office ... a nice day, thank you ;)

Hope you have a very nice day too 🙂

Cheers and !BEER

Well I hope your day goes well and you can or have got home dry :)
Cheers and !BEER

Well, I stayed almost dry - just when I left the office it started to rain, but not enough to get really wet 🙂


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: Photo Walk At The Reservoir - #Wednesdaywalk Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I was thinking leprechaun when I first saw the figurine. Must be his hat. My youngest brother lives in Ireland and he doesn't want to live anywhere else. He's settled there permanently with his whole family. So I guess it must be a really nice place.

Sixty countries?!!!? Unbelievable. You just could be the most travelled person in the whole of Steemit and Hive combined. Now that's another revelation to add to marathoner and motocrosser lol.

It could well be a Leprechaun, and Ireland is such a beautiful country I visited there quite a few times and can see why your brother has decided to settle there :)

LOL maybe but with my colleagues where i worked 60 plus is common :)

Ahhh... lovely statue. I've got to see if there is a Luck of the Irish coin. What???? Bored at home? I don't believe you, LOL! You can take all sorts of photos! And I like how the background fades in all the photos above. My iPhone can't do that, LOL!
Oh yeah, I forgot... I made a monochromatic photo for Old Guy, but with what's happening right now in HIve, I can't post two articles a day.
Have a great week, my friend @tattoodjay and take care 🥰🌺🤙

I wonder is there a Luck of the Irish coin you will have to let me know if you find one ;)
No getting the faded background is not easy with an iPhone I used a $1000 lens to get that effect :)

I don't think Old guy would mind if you did it on another day :)

!tip

Jay, your little Irishman figurine is a happy one. I can see how it would make you smile.☘️

My mother was from Co. Mayo Ireland and I visited there and met some of my cousins. Once when mother was living and about seven years ago with my bother and sister.

Mother would give my sister some of the Irish stout when she was not gaining weight. I think it helped build her appetite.

it is my favorite souvenir

Co Mayo is such a beautiful area I visited there a couple of times I never got the taste for stout but it surely is popular there

You are a privileged being dear friend @tattoodjay I don't think there are many people in the world who have visited so many countries.
I share your opinion, that character also stole a smile from me.
Thank you very much for letting us know about these objects
I wish you a happy rest

I do agree I have been lucky to have experienced so much seeing both popular touristy countries at one end of the spectrum and at the other end countries ravaged by war

you to have a great day

The statement on that does make some sense. :)

👍🙂👍

I second that stout!

That little man is a really nice guy.

Cheers!

I think so as well :)