Light in the darkness

in GEMS4 years ago

Light in the darkness and maybe a few thoughts

I came across these shots of some of the Chandeliers in Grand Central and decided to share them this morning, I always found this caught my eye whenever I walked through the terminal and thought these shots were wot sharing and they kind of fitted to something my wife and I were talking about this morning, which I may vent about a little later on in this post but first let's just enjoy a shot of one of them

1 1 light inthe darkness3.jpg

Sony A7iii 117mm F6.3 1/60 Sec ISO 2000
Click here to view larger



Arent they such impressive light fixtures Lovely gold metal work and glittering in the height of the terminal.
Her is a closer shot of one of them.

1 1 light inthe darkness.jpg

Sony A7iii 212mm F6.3 1/60 Sec ISO 2500
Click here to view larger



OK I have been debating whether to share these thoughts, but I will so feel free to scroll by this next paragraph or two.

Light in the darkness in the title for me is related to the light being seeing signs in some states that the Curve of the virus has been flattened and the chance of returning to some form of normalcy in the not to distant future, the darkness is the fact that to me some states are rushing too much to try and return to normal and risk a second wave as has been learned in Japan and Singapore who relaxed or didn't impose strong guidelines thinking it was under control and then the second wave came and even stronger guidelines restrictions were needed.

And at this time, but prevalent for a while well before the virus, I have noticed a trend for many to choose to only read articles or news sites that echo what they choose to believe, and hence have a distorted view of reality, I wish more would do as I do and read articles and news at both end of the spectrum in the middle and allow themselves to make an informed opinion on the reality of things, Now I am not saying I know for certain how everything is, one never does, but at least allow yourself to see things from different perspectives.

How that relates to the Virus I see so many sharing articles on Farcebook that match what they want to believe, and so often based on the headline of the article, often if you actually take the time to read the article ( which I am also noticing many choose not to do as the headline matches what they want to hear so they don't feel they need to read it), often I find the article does not actually match the heading, it is just there to grab attention to catch views and gain page views.

Now let me say I do think the mainstream press does tend to like to sensationalize things again to get views and increase ratings and that doesn't help, but neither do articles twisting statistics of facts to meet the writer's perspective.

Now I am not going to lecture on what people should do or not do in this post, there is enough of people doing it out there at the moment, but let me just say..

I choose to wear a mask when I go out, all be it very rarely, not because I think it will protect me from catching the virus, but because if I do happen to catch the virus and in the early period of not showing symptoms I would be protecting those I may come near, also when out I am very careful to maintain social distancing guidelines, so a mask may not achieve anything when I am out but I feel I am doing my bit to try and contain the virus.

Now I do understand some say wearing a mask makes breathing harder, and I do agree I have COPD and breathing issues and do feel the difference with my breathing wearing a mask.

Now as I said each has a right to make their own decision, but personally I believe COVID 19 is a serious issue and if measures are not taken to contain it and return slowly and sensibly to back to normal, we are going to see a second wave and all the restrictions we have felt and been driven nuts by up to now will be waste of time

OK Rant over another photo to finish of the post.

1 1 light inthe darkness2.jpg

Sony A7iii 36mm F5.6 1/60 Sec ISO 5000
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 40.752412 lat -73.976960 long Grand Central terminal NYC d3scr

Sort:  

It is difficult to comprehend why people do not understand that it is crucial to wear a mask at this time of pandemic. Yes, a mask does not give you a 100% protection, but it gives you that added layer of protection. Anyway, to each his own. But for our own selves' sake and for the sake of our loved ones, we should wear a mask when we are out in public.

thats exactly how I feel, sadly there are too many people who during this pandemic seem nothin' they know more than health professionals

Very shallow people. They will have to learn it the hard way.

Sadly that is very true

Nice photos! I was pretty annoyed by the mask thing at first, but now it isn't as big of a deal to me. I look at it like this. If they are wrong about masks, then I am not hurting anyone by wearing one. If they are right about masks, then I am potentially savings lives. That seems like a good enough reason in my book...

I think thats a good way to look at it, and how I am thinking also, I just more would look at it this way

Love the rant. And I agree with you 101%. There's a saying, "The hardest people to wake up are those already awake." This old adage kept popping in my mind when I read your post. Perfectly fits those people referred to in your rant.

On a lighter note, the pictures are again poster perfect. Love them.

That is a good saying I have not come across before but indeed it is so apt for sure

Now that you mentioned it I think it is actually a local Pilipino saying :)

well it translates well and makes good sense

I laughed when I read "I may vent about a little later on in this post but first let's just enjoy a shot of one of them"... ha ha.... lets enjoy a moment before the rant.

I love lights, lamps, chandeliers of every kind. The more unusual or magnificent, the better.

As for your rant, which was not so much a rant, I can honestly say I agree with your opinion on it and have had nearly identical thoughts on it as well. I see a lot of complaints and maybe those people feel they would get through it just fine themselves, but they are not thinking PAST themselves, which I suppose is par for the course in these days and time. I would not love to get it myself, but I would also not like to think I gave it to someone else, especially if they died. I don't have a breathing issue at this time and even I could tell a difference after doing over an hour of power shopping in the grocery store, which at this time only happens about every 3 weeks. In the end I did feel like it affected my breathing a little. Still, I feel like it is a small price to pay for a temporary amount of time, to do all that I can to be part of the solution, instead of part of the problem. I don't see how anyone cannot "see" ..... that with so many cases still out there (and way more than we know since not everyone is tested), that in opening back up too fast, there is no way it will not take off again.

I kept hoping some genius (and I mean that sincerely), would figure out a happy medium, but so far that has not happened. The good thing is, we can still do this for ourselves. All we can do is.... all we can do. 😊

LOl I like to warn people i do not often go off on a express my feelings session like that LOL

and yes even with my breathing issues the very rare time I go out I wear a mask, it is a little harder to breathe but I am fine its not like I plan to go for a run or anything with the mask on LOL

yes the happy medium is whats needed, but its a balancing act to find what is the right action for all to take time will tell I guess for now I willdo my part

Thank you for taking a beautiful photo of lights and then sharing your thoughts in a well-written article that is so practical and related to the times. I agree that some may be too much in a hurry t go back to the regular norm before the virus crisis. I am glad that the people in my town, in general, are compliant with recommendations of wearing masks and gloves, as I do the same too... to keep others and myself safe.
Stay safe and take care, my friend, @tattoodjay 🥰🌺🤙

Thanks its not often i express my feelings like this and glad some have taken it well :)

and appreciate your positive thoughts and feedback :)

Wow beautiful shots, that chandelier makes the atmosphere really interesting, good job!

Thanks I do love the style they have in Grand Central :)

Very cheerful lighting! Masks are useful here! There are no flu cases during the last two months!!

Thanks and glad there are no cases there

Those lights at grand central station are iluminary! It's not a word but I think it fits! One of these day's I'm going to walk around NYC and soak up the sights and sounds. Until then there's #WednesdayWalk! I plan on doing the walk this coming Wednesday. I'm going to put all 3 hashtags together for my @Actifit report that day! @AdventureReady's #AutomaticWin, @definethedollar's #TrippleTen, and @tattoodjay's #WednesdayWalk!

So! I hope that you are doing well Jay... I have been hearing that COVID-19 has been wreaking significant harm over there so our thoughts and best wishes are going out to the whole city of NYC during these difficult times.

Thanks and yes Grand Central is for sure worth a visit such an amazing building, and in the city its very easy to combine all three of those challenges without a doubt.

I am lucky in that I retired just as this was all kicking off so have not been into the city since the end of Feb, but from friends there its like a ghost town a lot of the time and so challenging there, out her in Ct its not good but not so bad

Were doing well with our health conditions we have self quarrantined to stay safe and hope its not to long before it passes, but my hope isn't that strong lOL

Stay well
Cheers

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

👍🙂👍

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 4 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

👍🙂👍Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

I no longer want to deposit, so I am taking advantage of every opportunity I have to be creative and having faith that everything will happen, I liked the last photo.

Thanks for your visit and thoughts

Nice photos! I was pretty annoyed by the mask thing at first, but now it isn't as big of a deal to me. I look at it like this. If they are wrong about masks, then I am not hurting anyone by wearing one. If they are right about masks, then I am potentially savings lives. That seems like a good enough reason in my book...

Although I was in Hong Kong when SARS happened 17 years ago, and have been living in Taiwan for the past 4 years where wearing a mask is part of the norm, I have always disliked wearing mask myself. The problem with this virus, is that there is still no cure and it seems to be under control only because of social distancing and lockdown, which is not the way we should be living. Given the choice between mask and lockdown, I would gladly go with the former.

Take care.

here I think people have a phobia with masks being hiding away or something like that as you say given the choice I will wear a mask
I never was impacted much by SARS fortunately, but I think this one is going to lead to many changes around the world

Only a handful of countries were affected by SARS, that's why places like Hong Kong and Taiwan reacted a lot quicker when Coronavirus started. Most of the world wasn't aware of this in January. and those who were, played down this as another flu. By the time people around the world were aware of how serious this was, and wanted to buy hand sanitizer and face masks, everything had been snapped up by people from a certain country a month ago. People had no chance to protect themselves at all.

Anyway,this is definitely a wake up call for everyone to reassess everything around them.

That makes sense People from that region had learned the lesson from their SARS experience

Lets hope the end result of this is a more caring and better world

Nice light setup and closed up picture in a great location.

Thanks it is a pretty cool location for sure I passed through there most days working the city and neve lost my love for it

That’s a beautiful impressive light fixture Jay.

In some places it is mandatory to wear the mask but not here on the Island - some people do. I’ve seen people shopping at the grocery store with survival gloves and a mask on.

It might be dangerous to wear the mask with any breathing problems. I heard of one person passing out while wearing one.

There’s only been a few cases (26) of the virus here and they recovered. There are checkpoints at the entrances and everyone has to have essential business to come on the Island.

I think the physical distancing and hand washing are important and seems to be helping.

In any case stay safe and be well through all this pandemic.

Ogg yeah the lights are so ornate in Grand Central
Thats great you have only had 26 cases there

Yes I do understand some may have breathing issues wearing a mask, I know I do feel it in my lungs the odd time I wear it

Beautiful chandeliers!! I also wear my mask, even when I go for my morning walk, like you say it could prevent the virus from spreading to other people if you have it. It really does not take anything from you to just wear the mask.

thats the way to be I believe a pity some resist it

Beautiful chandeliers! Thank you for sharing your rant, and may I say it is refreshing to read some discussion of the virus that does not include ridiculous theories about how Bill Gates is attempting to depopulate the world and other such nonsense. (I hate Bill Gates because of Windows software, I don't need some b.s. reason!)

Here on Vancouver Island we have been spared the worst of this plague. Currently two people are hospitalized and we have had five deaths. Masks are not mandatory here but I do wear one when I have to enter a grocery store or pharmacy... otherwise I walk around without a mask but I'm careful to stay a couple of yards away from people I pass on the street. Things are beginning to open up here, so perhaps we are seeing some light in the darkness! Voted & shared :-)

Thanks and yes maybe that was what spurred my rant getting sick of all the crazy theories people are spreading

Glad its not to bad there and I hope it does return to normal for you soon,I think its going to be a while before we get there