Market Friday

in GEMS4 years ago

Market Friday

A post for Market Friday hosted by @dswigle, if you haven't followed her yet you should she is one of the kindest and most supportive people here on Steemit, a comment from her is like a ray of sunshine on your page.
This is the one tag and daily challenge that I always make a point of joining, and also look through the posts of others that join the challenge and seeing markets from all around the world.

For this weeks post, my first Market Friday for a couple of months, I am sharing a cool old shop I have seen a few times when driving around New Bedford, my new home city where I have moved to.

mas donuts3.jpg

Sony A7iii 47mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger



This is a shop that used to be Ma's Donut and Coffee shop, I say used to be as when I was taking these shots I noticed it had a for sale sign up, but none the less, I love the style of it and I wonder how long it has been around, I started with a mono shot as I always like mono for old buildings like this.

mas donuts2.jpg

Sony A7iii 75mm F8 1/100 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



next up a shot of the sign for the shop on another building, I had planned this shoot for a few weeks, my wife goes to our daughter in laws hair salon just a couple of minutes down the road from this shop so I took my camera the last 3 or 4 weeks, to duck to the park across the road from this shop for a walk and to get some photos, but the weather had not been cooperating and each time I drove to the park the rain would start within a minute or two or me getting out for a walk, but this day, I was lucky and the rain stopped just before I dropped off my wife so I was able to get these shots

and a last shot in color of Ma's Donuts and coffee shop

mas donuts.jpg

Sony A7iii 49mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks



unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

We haven't started Team USA on Hive yet but no doubt it will come shortly

TEAMUSAhive JJ.jpg

!pinmapple 41.675011 lat -70.923294 long 1972 Acushnet Ave New Bedford, MA 02745 d3scr

Sort:  

Your current Rank (64) in the battle Arena of Holybread has granted you an Upvote of 80%

thanks so much

Wow... high rank in Holybread !.. I can only muster a 11% upvote from them. !haha

👍🙂👍

Hello dear friend @tattoodjay good night
A real pleasure to see one of your posts again, I hope the move has been pleasant. What beautiful photographs you give us to know, without a doubt it will be full of stories, its location is unbeatable
I take this opportunity to wish you a wonderful weekend

thanks so much you to have a good weekend ;)

There is nothing to thank dear friend @tattoodjay I really enjoy your work, it is a pleasure to visit you
enjoy this wonderful weekend very much

👍🙂👍

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

The name of the place makes it sound good. Too bad it seems to be no more.

yeah I looked online and I think it closed in 2016 what a pity

Great photography as per normal. The middle shot is particularly attractive. I love the effect.

Pity that it's closed. In my experience any place named 'Ma's' is a place worth trying out. You wouldn't want to let your mother down, would you?

Good to see you back in the game, my friend!

Good grief. Did you move to New Bedford, Mass? I had it in my mind that you were off to Maine. I have a friend that lives in New Bedford. Watch out for the White Whale!

Ohh yeah I had been planning to trying it out I to think any place named ma's is normally good :)

Glad to see you! I've been away awhile :)

me to I had not posted for almost two months I hope all is well with you

Gad you're back too. I hope all is well in your world.

yes all is well settling into our new house and retirement routine ;)

Oh HELLO!!! And here you are, my dearest friend @tattoodjay! I missed you!!!! It is such a delight to read a post from you again! Like... you posted every single day... it was like ....withdrawal symptoms for a while there, LOL
Awww... Ma's coffee shop was for sale? It must be sad for the regulars!
AWESOME photographs! WELCOME BACK!!! 🥰🌺🤙
!tip

LOL I know I went from full on, on here to disappearing, wont be as active as I used to be at least for a while, but will be posting at least two or three times a week i hope :)

I did miss my time on here and you I hope all is well :)

As always awesome images my friend. By the way, is it just me not seeing your daily posts or you're not that really active in posting these days?

Hope you are always fine there.

Posted using Dapplr

Thanks, no its not you, I ended up finding a house where we wanted to move so the last two months has been all about packing up, moving and unpacking and getting settled in our new house so I haven't been posting for two months, but will try to be more regular now ;)

I have picked your post for my daily hive voting initiative, Keep it up and Hive On!!

thanks so much truly appreciated

Loving these shots. Great to have you back with us:)

glad to be back :) 👍🙂👍

I should have looked at this post before I made the other reply 😉
Your new home is not far away from the peninsula and the seaside looks very promising too, JJ 😀

Seems like there's a lot for you to discover in your new town. That shop looks cool - in the first photo you could think it's standing somewhere alone and the roof of the house behind is a part of the building.

It's good to have you back JJ 😄


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote
!tip

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @johannpiber!

Check out @johannpiber blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Welcome back my friend. Glad to know you have settled in nicely. Excited to see your "poster perfect" photos again.

Thanks glad to be back 👍🙂👍

Superb photography bringing old building back to life using different options.

Also good to hear you are able to go walking and exploring now you are more settled in.

!BEER
!tip

Thanks it’s good to be out taking photos again

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @joanstewart, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @joanstewart!

@joanstewart wrote lately about: Robin In The Woods Feel free to follow @joanstewart if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

New Bedford is so cool, right there on the water! I didn't think you would go too far inland! I am so very happy that you took the time to get this all together, especially before winter came. You have been missed!

I can see already that this town has a lot of character. I have only been there two or three times, once at a Whaling Museum, they have and the other times on my way to Cape Cod. Oh, you are so close and now, I am so jealous! Boston, Cape Cod, the Atlantic, all right at your doorstep.

Le sigh.

You deserve it after all the years you have put into being a humanitarian. I always wish you the best, my friend. There are so many challenges here on Hive and it warms my heart to see that you chose to be a part of this one. It is people such as yourself that made it into such a successful challenge! It takes a lot of effort and thoughts to put together a post for the #MarketFriday challenge. I know this first-hand and so, again, it is appreciated. Thank you again for being a part of all this! I hope you have a lovely weekend!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

We spent two days in the Cape this week in Hyannis as the family had a time share for the week but did some exploring such a beautiful area we will do more trips there and around the state

Love the Cape! My cousin still lives in Woods Hole and one on Martha's Vineyard - when we were in our teens we would try to wangle a trip to Fire Island or Cape Cod. Especially those as we had places to stay there.

Every time I hear about another trip you had, it gives me such a great pleasure knowing you are out there enjoying life.

Le sigh

That’s cool we have been looking up and so much to see here we plan to do a trip to Martha’s Vineyard soon looking forward to it !tip

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Ma's. A real icon from days gone by... That's a lovely shot with the green sign really contrasting nicely. Nothing like good ole bricks to make buildings that last seemingly forever.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Your photos are always a delight to look at .... I missed them while you were away... busy with "transporting" to a new city and new home.

Great to see your postings again.

👍🙂👍