DIY Dot art on salt dough (including salt dough recipe)

in GEMS4 years ago

side pic result.jpg

Fascinated by dot-art technique

Since I saw some very great dot art paintings some years ago, I have developed a fascination for this technique. I told myself that I wanted to learn how to create dot art one day, but never actually took the step to start trying this myself. I wanted to create dot arts on stones, but never found the right stones. On stones it looks awesome if you have those with the right surface for it. A while ago, I found some stones, thinking they'd be ok for this, but at home I found out these weren't of much help.

Salt dough instead of stones

I was watching some videos about different crafts and bumped on one demonstrating how you can make salt dough in a heartbeat and it's super cheap as well. So many cool home decorations are possible with this stuff, I watched so many videos after this discovery that I'm now full of ideas. But first I've decided to make simple rounds to teach myself how I can make dots for dot art paintings. Doing this on objects is totally different than on paper or canvas, and I want to learn how to do so on stones and other objects, this should be perfect to practice.

Let's get started

First, you have to make the salt dough, which is super easy and you probably already have all the ingredients at home.
This is what you need:

  • 1 cupful of plain flour (about 250g)
  • Half a cup of table salt (about 125g)
  • Half a cup of water (about 125ml)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven at 100 degrees Celcius.

  2. Mix the flour and salt in a large bowl. Add the water and stir until it comes together into a ball.

  3. Put flour on your working surface and start creating whatever you desire to create. I decided to only make round plaques to practice the dot art technique, but I will be creating home decoration soon now I've discovered how simple it is to make salt dough creations.

  4. Once satisfied with the creations, put them on a baking sheet on a plate in the oven for 1,5 hour. If you have created thicker items, you may need to bak it a little longer, just check it every 10 minutes or so.

  5. Let it cool off before you start painting.

Let's start the painting

So don't expect me to present the coolest artwork here, as I mentioned earlier in the post, this is to practice the feel of creating dots on an object instead of on a flat paper or canvas. I started with one of the rounds and gave it a yellow base color (I used watercolor paint for this part).

first picture.jpg

After this had dried, I took my acrylic paint and a few different sizes of brushes. For this, you can decide which thickness of brush works best, I tested the middle dot with a thick brush but that didn't really work out that well, so next time I will just use a smaller one with more paint on it.

I quickly learned, that having a design ready, rather than just do something is a smarter idea, but at least I didn't ruin any expensive object or cool stone here but only cheap salt dough :)
I tried making a few circles around the middle dot, using different colors but I clearly used too little paint as they were quickly sucked into the salt dough (so it seems). But I'm not going to quit now, let's finish it and get familiar with the feeling of creating dots.

white added.jpg

I'm glad I continued because when I started using the white paint, the dots started to get more actual dots on top of the dough instead of being sucked in immediately. This is what I wanted to see. I discovered that I needed more paint on my brush to create these and needed to double-check if my brush was dry enough after changing colors. Unfortunately, sometimes it turned out a bit wet.

result above.jpg

The end result from above. Not a great piece, but I'm sure I can make some kiddo happy with it. Next attempt I will start dotting with a design on paper so I have some guidelines to start with. It has proven to be harder for me to do it without a plan.

Hopefully you liked the idea of this artwork on salt dough. Stay safe, and until next time!

Sort:  

You post has been manually curated by BDVoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.


Vote @bdcommunity as a Hive Witness.


Are you a Splinterlands player? Get instant 3% cashback on every card purchase on MonsterMarket.io. MonsterMarket has the highest revenue sharing in the space, no minimum spending is required. Join MonsterMarket Discord.

BDVoter Team

Cool, thank you! I will join the discord!

This looks really fun. I've seen a varietion of dot art called blob art and that looked fun as well.

Thanks for picking my post for the ocd curation post, appreciate it! <3
I had never heard about blob art, so just googled it. Wow, that's insanely cool!
I have no idea how you can achieve something like that, for now, I will stick to this and first make sure that I make perfect dots lol.

Just baked a badge of new salt dough ornaments and will try to create one each day, and practice it on them before I try to paint it on other stuff..

Again, thanks for stopping by :)

Blob art sounds awesome! Probably due to the sci-fi horror B movie feel to it ;<)

Wow! This is awesome! It looks very cute and I'm sure there's a market for it. It will definitely make kids happy and it might be cool for them to make this too ( as well as for adults who want to practice more mindfulness ).

It also brings up memories of my childhood. My parents had some painted salt dough figures in their study, ages ago. I remember that we where told we couldn't eat them :>)

I will keep an eye on your blog, as I breathe and support creativity and it's neede more than ever nowadays.

P.S. If you're interested in dot art / pointillism, I suggest you check out @creativemary's profile. She's very good at it. In fact, I included a recent pointillism piece of her in yesterday's Natural Medicine curation

Thanks for the compliments @vincentnijman!
You have a great point there, it's so meditative to create them. I posted another one today and just baked a few new ones earlier, painted the first layer on them just now so that I can make another one tomorrow morning. Quite cool to do so, even if at first, they don't really look that great compared to examples online.. When you zoom out a bit and see the whole artwork, I love it anyway.

Haha I can imagine you don't want to eat it! I also have some vague memories of that dough that we made it in school and it was not for consumption :P

And that's wonderful of you to point out someone with the same interests, heading over to her profile right away (and your post as well!)

After that, going to find my bed, so wishing you a good night for now!

You have a great point there

A great dot you mean ;<)

We can all use some more meditative practices in our daily lives these days.

Cool that you have memories to dot art on dough yourself. May I ask when you were born or is that rude? I'm from 1981.

Awesome to see that this led to an entire series.

See you around! :<)