Finally got a New Laptop!

in GEMS3 years ago (edited)

20201114_202319.jpg

If you have read my post: "A Goal to gift myself a Laptop using HIVE!" you would know that my old laptop was almost in dying stages and a couple of months later it actually died.

It was a 11 year old Dell Studio 15 laptop which even the laptop service technician gave up on when I asked him to repair it.

He said that motherboard was gone and even if he'd replace that, in a few months hard disk issue would arise because even the battery was dead.

Upon his and another technician's suggestion (yes, we took it to another technician just in case the first guy was fooling around), we decided to not revive it again and let it die a peaceful death after 11 years of faithful service.

My plan since the beginning has been to pick up a top of the line that would serve me atleast 5-10 years without being outdated. Since my work mostly involves video editing, and other similar work, I had decided on picking up the Dell XPS 15.

It is Dell's flagship laptop with one of the best specs available in the market. The reviews always put it in the top 10 list in "best productivity laptops" posts.

The plan was to buy it with the help of Hive by August 2020 which is my birthday month. It would've been a gift from me to me. I had even kept my Hive on powerdown.

I expected Hive to have reached atleast close to 35 cents mark by then but things turned out quite the opposite as you all know. The value of Hive has fallen down to 10 cents.

All the Hive tokens that I have accumulated so far has been my hard earned tokens by writing blog posts since June 2017.

Obviously at the current value of Hive, I didn't really think it would be the best possible action to withdraw it and spend it on a USD 2000+ laptop. If I withdraw now, I'd only be getting a value of USD 400.

So, I kind of postponed the plans of picking up the laptop. My dad had been noticing that I needed a laptop to be able to do my productive work but wasn't able to due to the market conditions.

So, without informing me he placed an order for a HP 14S 10th Gen laptop as a surprise Deepavali gift, I think? It arrived right on the day of Deepavali.

Now, frankly speaking I needed a higher specs laptop for my work related tasks. But this would work as a good buffer until Hive picks up again so that I would be able to pick up a top specs laptop which can do gaming as well as productivity.

Since our old family laptop got retired, this would definitely be it's good replacement for everyone to use when needed.

Since we already got a lightweight laptop, right now instead of Dell XPS 15, I'm looking towards a hardcore gaming laptop like MSI GS66 Stealth, Asus Zephyrus G14 or a Razor Blade top spec one. Of course, I'm looking at long term usage like 5-10 years and Hive would have to hit atleast close to USD 1 to make this possible.

Anyways, let's see how things go. For now I have got my buffer laptop with which I would be able to atleast post regularly on Hive.

Here are a few pictures of our new family laptop:

20201114_202244.jpg

It's 14" and very light at 1.51 kg. As you can see in the picture above, it can easily be held in one hand (Just like a book) without feeling like your arm might fall off.

20201114_202340.jpg

The keys are having proper distancing and it feels easy to find the keys where they need to be while typing. The movement of the keys also makes it fun to type.

20201114_202329.jpg

It comes with a 10th Gen Intel Core i5-1035G1 Processor and 8 gigs of RAM (upgradable to 16 gigs if necessary). The storage includes a 256 GB SSD and a 1 TB HDD for storage requirements.

20201114_202347.jpg

It has a 14" Full HD display with inbuilt Intel HD 620 Graphics.The battery is a 41 Watt Hours unit lasting 9 hours on this laptop.

As far as ports go, there is 2 x USB 3.0 Type A ports, 1 x HDMI port, 1 x USB 3.1 Type C port, a SD card slot and a sim card slot.

It also includes a HP TrueVision 720pHD Webcam and dual speaker setup. These are all the tech specs of the laptop.

So far I'm enjoying the experience of using this laptop. Gotta see how it performs on the longer run. HP gives a one year warranty which can then be extended for 2 more years by paying extra.

That's it for this post!
Thanks for reading. :)
@wandereronwheels

Sort:  

That isn't a bad spec machine and having a decent sized SSD will make all the difference. Many seem to go for more cores, higher MHz and RAM where the real bottleneck is having a mechanical hard drive. Saying that...those things are likely to be useful for video editing but and SSD will certainly help.

AH! Finally Bro.
Not a Dell xps, but a laptop a 1000 times better than your previous one :P.
Congratulations bro!
Looking foward to reading your Hive posts now #regularly

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @solominer & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.io/diyhub!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Congratulations! :D