CREMATED ON CHRISTMAS!

in GEMS3 years ago (edited)
Better late than never! Wishing everyone on HIVE Happy New Year 2021! Do you miss me? Stop. Don't tell me. I think I know your answers too well. My guess is of course a big NO. My instinct is often spot on accurate which is sometimes very annoying.

IMG_20201222_182004.jpg


As always, the inevitable had happened. My late father with stage four cancer passed away peacefully in his sleep on the morning of 22nd December 2020. We organized a 3 days funeral wake prior to sending his corpse to the crematorium. Probably at exactly the same time when most people were happily tearing apart their Christmas gift wrappers.

IMG_20201222_181957_2.jpg


This post is not meant to be tragic at all. On the contrary, I'm very grateful in spite of all the twists and turns of events. My late father got to visit and talk to most of his relatives and friends before he left for a better place than Earth. His stage four throat cancer was the least aggressive of all cancer types. According to one of my close relative, if he had for example breast cancer, he'll be screaming for morphine. The only complication was difficulty in swallowing solid food. I might sound unemotional but I'm afraid that attachment will only prevent the dead from moving on to their intended destination peacefully. Buddhism taught us that birth, aging, illness and death are part and parcel of the natural order of life.

IMG_20201226_103005.jpg

My late father's urn at final resting spot


Caring for my sickly late father was surprisingly easy. We moved him to the room on the ground floor when he became too weak to walk. It'll be disastrous if elderly people fall down any staircases. My mom only had to help him with going to the toilet for a week before he departed. For some, caring for sick elderly parents with Alzheimer can turn into unpleasant affair especially when they run away from home or compose artistic masterpieces on the wall out of feces. My siblings and I counted our blessings for getting spared from such undesirable experiences.

Overall, the funeral went on smoothly. We hired Buddhist monks and nuns to chant complicated and rare sutras. On the first day of his passing, we chanted "Amitabha" for 8 hours non-stop. Close knitted family members, relatives, friends and business acquaintances turned up to pay their last respect. I hope my late father will be happy with the final resting place we had chosen for him in a newly developed peaceful plot of land. The fengshui looks good there.

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Wheat

Sort:  

Congratulations @wittywheat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you for doing a good job @hivebuzz!

You're welcome @wittywheat, well bone 🌹

RIP. That was a very nice and supportive funeral for your dear father. Life and reincarnation go hand in hand.

You could continue to send good vibes to the other realm. There’s a waiting period for reincarnation.

All the best.

Thank you for your kind thoughts and advice! Best wishes! 😄

🙏💐🌷🌺🌹🌸🌈