SCHNAUZER AND SENESCENCE

in GEMS4 years ago

This month my pet Schnauzer turned exactly 14 years and 7 months old. He was born just a day short of Valentine's. When he was a young pup he disliked tummy rub as he felt vulnerable in that position. These days not a day goes by without tummy rub. After partially losing his hearing, he began to sleep in comical positions.


tommy002.jpg

Normal sleeping position


On average, a Schnauzer's lifespan is around 16 years old. Unsure how much more time we will have together but it sure was fun while it lasted. Schnauzers are active, curious, smart, mischievous, sweet, funny, caring and a glutton. A compact breed filled with personality. He loves steam sweet potatoes and pumpkins. If I'm under the weather he'll come over to check on me. Schnauzers are sensitive creatures.


IMG_20190926_110847.jpg

With one leg up on the wall


He was very frustrated with me the first time I left him with my parents for a month to travel. He thought I had abandoned him. He pretended not to recognize me when I came to collect him. It took some time to build trust again.


IMG_20190424_021044.jpg

Playing dead



IMG_20190703_162610.jpg

Just woke up


Schnauzers are the best breed for me. Hardly shed hair. They are accurate like biological alarm clock. Must bring him out for walks twice a day and feed him at exactly the same time every day. He is very alert when there are strangers around but gentle with children. Best guard dog and an excellent companion.

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Wheat

Sort:  

Ahh he is very cute! We have two dogs (mixed breeds). One of them often sleeps in the playing dead position!

I hope you are having a lovely weekend!

Thank you @feltbuzz! So kind of you to let me know your pet sleeps in the same position too. Same to you and family! Happy weekend! 😄

Congratulations @wittywheat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 comments. Your next target is to reach 900 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP