What I Learnt From Being A Mother For A Night

in GEMS3 years ago

tongues-1031219_1280.webp
pixabay

I can imagine no heroism greater than motherhood.
-Lance Conrad

Never have I really fantasized about motherhood all my life until recently and that's only a little. Cute baby photos and videos always get to me and I imagine how cute it'd be to have mini-mes running around the house. That's where all the excitement ends for me. I'm jolted to reality when I come across videos of women in labour and I cringe hard. It is not a very pleasant experience and everyday I question why nature had to make it this hard. If only we could pop babies as we please.

My 'fear' of motherhood however doesn't just surround childbirth only, it's deeper than that. For one thing, you don't take a break from being a mum. People talk about putting their career and work on hold to have kids and then kicking off from where they stopped before their maternal leave. It's baffling to me because they say it like your life doesn't entirely change after childbirth. You have tiny humans embedded into your schedule that you have to care for for the rest of your life. Even when they're older you still feel responsible for them in one way or another.

Few days ago I had my sister-in-law drop off her two year old, my niece, with me for a night and the experience further opened my eyes to what motherhood feels like. My niece was very well behaved because she's used to the house already, and apart from the occasional "where's my mummy" cries, she was fine. I had to make sure she ate, couldn't take my eyes off her when her grandparents weren't looking, put her on my back when she wanted to be babied and put her to bed after bathing.

Now all was fine and well but I couldn't sleep well throughout that night. I felt a deep sense of responsibility which kept me alert for most of the night. I was concerned if she was sleeping well, making sure she was well covered and not cold. It kind of puts things into perspective for me, that is, my decision in not wanting to have kids yet. I am not fully prepared in giving my life to a person(s) just yet. I know I'd do it with all of my heart and mind, being the possible best I can be but I'm not ready.

I thought it was cute having your baby follow you all around the house until I actually had a kid following me all around the house 😄 "Can you let me use the bathroom in peace please?" They never let you.

One might never be fully prepared when it comes to motherhood because it's a unique experience for each woman but I would at least try so I'm not overwhelmed. I already can't wait for my unborn kids to be adults so they get out of my house though. I love them still.

Happy Mother's Day to all mothers on hive. You all are amazing ❤

Sort:  

Hmmm, well you have your reasons for that.
Truely it's not easy to be a mother but everyone has to bring forth generations of his/her kind which means that without you there will be no generation (vice versa).
Lucky you it's feeling is not strange any longer to you, so don't keep us waiting 👀👀👀👀

Everyone doesn't have to 🤷🏼

You don't mean it, what are you implying?

The most of the time it depends to what kind of person you are and how can you handle it to raise the good way . Thanks for sharing your story