What Happens When You Don't Pick Up Your Litter

in CLEAN PLANET3 years ago

So this is a bit of an aside, but I promise it's related, to #cleanplanet. I've posted several cleanups that I did around my apartment building and on my block. There is a parking lot that always has a lot of trash in it that was my main cleaning target.

I haven't been able to clean it in a long time, not only because chronic illness has been kicking my butt and I've been too tired, but also because there is construction happening (again), and it has been fenced off and full of construction equipment (they are building a new building across the street; this parking lot is serving as like, their storage area).

When cleaning this area, I always cleaned up a pile of cigarette butts. Different brands, different areas of the lot, so it's not like, one person who is smoking in their car or chucking it off their balcony, it's lots of different people.

So this week, this happened:

fire1.jpg

I smelled smoke in my apartment, and at first I thought neighbors were cooking and burning something because sometimes smells come up through the plumbing in the kitchen (yes, really; our building is leaky). But then I finally looked out the window and saw the smoke. By the time I looked, two of the construction workers were dumping water bottles onto it. I called down and asked if they wanted a fire extinguisher, and they were like "nah, we got it" and just then, the super of my building showed up with one anyway.

The fire department arrived:

fire3.jpg

And they said the fire was started by a cigarette butt that had been smouldering there in the weeds for at least a day before it caught and made a true fire.

Moral of the story, please STUB OUT YOUR CIGARETTES and don't toss the butts into the weeds! They could have set our building on fire, it was that close. Carry an old mint tin or something in your pocket and stub out your cigarettes in that like an ash tray, and carry them in it until you find someplace safe and appropriate to throw out your trash.

And thank you to everyone who takes the time to clean up the cigarette butts that are so ubiquitous on the ground. You are not only cleaning up the environment, but maybe preventing fires as well!

bee good.jpg

Sort:  

Your story reminded me about a smoker, he threw the butt of his cigarette on the road a person called him from behind and said, "Hey mate, you have forgotten something important here". I guess we should spread awareness and teach our younger ones about the importance of cleanliness and decluttering regularly.

I saw a video once where someone threw fast food trash out of their car, and a motorcyclist picked it up and threw it back into their car window. The driver of the car got mad and tried to come out to possibly fight the motorcyclist, but the motorcycle driver just put his foot on the car door so the guy couldn't get out. Maybe just don't litter next time, car driver guy. 😂

Throwing trash is rare where I live but if anyone dares to do that. he pays a high price for his action. Even children here will not tolerate such a foolish act but will teach him a lesson. It's not forced but comes naturally, thank you!