The gardening season is at its end. Let’s take a look at the crops! Colorful Chili peppers!

in Agricultural Mindset2 years ago (edited)

It’s near to its end and I’m already thinking about and planning the next gardening season. I cannot say that 2022 year was very good with its results, but they are still very pleasing. After I almost lost some of my plants from bringing them out way too early in the spring, they had some nice summer and now as the autumn is relatively warm, I can pick some other ripe peppers.

I already picked about dozen of Carolina reapers that managed to get ripen earlier, but there are like 20 more that are being waited with passion. Overall the colors of my peppers are quite different and I really thought till the last moment that this was actually a red Carolina reaper. Eventually it turned out it was brown!

The looks of the already ripe peppers are stunning and I can tell you, without any doubt, that the peppers are threatening spicy and if I can compare the Orange habanero and the Brown Carolina reapers, the first are crazy chili, while the other can easily make your mouth very painful. Last year I managed to pick only 2 peppers from the Carolina reaper plant and after overwintering it, it started even stronger. The plant now is about 1 meter tall.

Meanwhile I started to dry some of the peppers and I’ll eventually grind them in a pepper powder. That really smell amazing - very fruity and flavorful sweet! I hope to pick dry some more peppers - at least the already dried quantity which will most likely be enough till the next year’s pepper are coming!

I really thought, when it was early summer that I will have some pumpkins for Halloween too, but the plan ended only delivering one pumpkin, which part from the other problems developed in the late summer, so really no chance to get nice and big. I think I can still use this as a decoration, when the time comes.

I’m now making some plans for the next year. Apart from starting peppers from seeds I will definitely try to start some plants from cuttings. I had one pepper plant that started from accidentally chopped branch of my potted peppers and it turned out to be a very successful plant. I would definitely try to reproduce my Carolina reaper this way. If I try to start 3-4 branches, I still hope that at least one of them will develop a nice roots till next spring.

That’s for now, wish you a happy weekend and see you again soon!

Sort:  

Woooo those guys look spicy.
Nice harvest! There is nothing better than vegetables from your own garden. So much more flavor.

The Brown reapers are truly scary, but their flavors like a bomb!

I've never had one but I'd be scared for sure. Probably too hot for me

Wow! A green thumb!
I love chilies, and I'm wondering if one of those is the scotch bonnet pepper. Also, the dark one looks interesting...
I'd love to taste the flavours.
Nice job there. Most be so pleasing to pick your own:)

It’s always pleasurable when I pick the peppers! Actually the orange one is Habanero, the dark brown is Carolina reaper. The greens and reds I’m not entirely aware of what they are. I thought that they are Carolina reapers too, but they turned out a bit different looking… 😁

Ok! I think the yellow/orangish ones are different in shape from the scotch bonnet though...

Nice harvest!

Dear @mdosev,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Love the colors of those peppers when combined together.