Saturday Snippets

in Hive South Africa2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20220923_095949_615.jpg

This weekend, South Africa celebrated Heritage Day. McGregor was no different and it included the market and we traded from 09h00 to at least 12h00 and while stocks last - in my case, I didn't run out, the people did - so we packed up and headed home. The reasons? Well, there are lots, but that's not a story for the here and now.

20220924_063237.jpg

Our contribution - other than my usual stuff, was boerewors rolls. For the uninitiated, that's a spiced, sausage that is popped into a hot dog roll - photo to follow when I do a reprise.

IMG_20220924_144452_363.jpg

The Husband fired up the skottle for boerewors rolls. Although it's over a gas flame, the skottle was originally an old plough disc that was turned into a frying pan. As you see, market patrons arrived in all sizes - and colours!

IMG_20220924_151523_884.jpg

I was particularly pleased with my bread and rolls this week, and with the bicycle picture, the only ones I managed to take of the market's festivities.

IMG_20220924_055116_301.jpg

In the jar this week, because it's bright like spring, a summer favourite, was an Asian, plant-based/vegan rainbow slaw. Happily, I made enough to save me from thinking too much about Monday's supper.

Heritage supper

Speaking of supper we weren't the only folk doing regte egte genuine South African heritage food. Fatima, who makes our Saturday samoosa fix, last week, told me she would be making biryani for this weekend. She has Malay heritage and it's a dish I love and never have made. Like so many traditional rice dishes, it has many different iterations and as many recipes. I placed an order.

I was delighted not to have to do too much kitchen duty after nearly three days on my feet, and after a visit to the local to watch South Africa not win the Rugby Championships, but beat Argentina.

So, for a post rugby, heritage supper with a difference, I flung together a fusion of sort-of traditional accompaniments from the pantry: peach chutney, balsamic onion marmalade (instead of caramelised onions), tzatziki (instead of raita) and I made a Kachumber salad.

IMG_20220925_072124_880.jpg

For the kachumber salad, I found a set of instructions courtesy of the interweb, and like so many traditional dishes, in a myriad of versions. It always includes - cucumber, tomato, carrot, coriander and mint. For the dressing: cumin, salt and pepper and lime juice. I shall certainly make it again - to go with other things. It has a lovely fresh yet slightly warm flavour. The combination of mint and coriander (cilantro) add a dimension that takes it, ahem, to another level.

IMG_20220925_072124_915.jpg

It was delicious. Every morsel.

IMG_20220925_072124_782.jpg

So generous was Tiema, with my order (that's what we call her), that we will happily have another meal of her fabulous biryani in a couple of days time.

PS No, I'm not letting the side down: vanaand gaan ons braai!

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.


Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
Sort:  

Your bread and rolls look perrrfect!

Great work! Your post was selected for curation by one of @curangel's dedicated curators for its contribution to quality!

...unfortunately, it had to be excluded from curation because of the use of a service (reward.app) to liquify rewards.Our upvotes are reserved for content which is created with a commitment to long term growth and decentralization of Hive Power.

This exclusion only applies to this and eventually other future liquified posts and not all your publications in general.

Take care and hive five!

I completely understand the rule, but perhaps your team do well to look at a couple of other things in your rules.

  1. the % being allocated to the app
  2. the account (and person behind it) commitment to the blockchain and what they give back

As a curator and community admin, and having been on the blockchain for 5+ years, I appreciate how much work goes into keeping people here and encouraging them to build accounts, so this is intended as constructive criticism because the motivation behind the use of this type of app is more nuanced than you give credit for.

Dear @fionasfavourites,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Of course you can, @arcange and of course I shall. Thank you for alerting me to it.

Thank you for your support @fionasfavourites, really appreciate it! ❤️

Please drop your link here on the #MarketFriday post. Much appreciated!

#MarketFriday loves you!

I missed this one! I will catch it this week!

And I shall endeavour to remember when I post tomorrow! Thank you for following up so diligently, Denise.

Loading...