MY SUBSTITUTE FOR RICE THIS WEEK -- BULGUR WHEAT

in Proof of Brain2 years ago

As part of my goals for this week in the ongoing dreemport challenge, I decided to go low on carbohydrate foods and also to control the portion of food I eat. I am still working on tucking in my stomach and obtaining a figure 8, you know. Hahaha

So to achieve the low carbohydrate foods this week, I decided not to eat rice this week. Hey, I ate rice daily before now. I can hardly survive a day or two without rice, but this week, I became determined and said there will be no rice. This is my alternative for rice.

IMG_20220407_161219_941.jpg

Where did I find this alternative to rice? Isn't it really rice? How do I survive without rice? Well, a colleague suggested broccoli 🥦. But I wanted something that would make me feel as if I was still eating rice. It was then I remembered something I had eaten before that felt like rice. So I called hubby to stop over at a supermarket to help me get it. It is called Bulgur wheat. That is what you saw in the place. In the pack, it looks like this below.

IMG_20220407_231704_371.jpg

IMG_20220406_155426_399.jpg

Yaay, he got bulgur wheat. Have you seen or eaten it? I love eating it anytime I remember to do so. And it is so amazing.

First, it looks like rice, though a fatter version. It smells like rice too. I love it and gave been enjoying it all week.

Tonight, I just got a cup out of it and boiled it, just to substitute for rice. My girls love it and just won't allow me eat it. They asked why I didn't make a full pack, 😂, how can I? Again they said " Mum it is unlike you. You didn't snap this and didn't write about it?". It was then I remember to come talk about it. 😂

HEALTH BENEFIT OF BULGUR WHEAT

IMG_20220407_232032_784.jpg

IMG_20220407_231756_231.jpg

It is a whole grain, this means all parts of it, including the bran, all are eaten and it provides users with nourishing nutrients such as proteins, iron, manganese, magnesium and fibre.

Bulgur wheat has just 1% total fat. If you are thinking on going on low carb foods, bulgur is it. It's safe to eat it and not add weight. Woohoo. A closer look at the nutritional facts will tell you that this is of course a healthy meal.

It is made from dried cracked wheat, this one I got is Durum wheat product. Bulgur wheat is easy to prepare and when made, it has a chewy nature, as if you are eating chewy dragees or couscous 😂.

**EASY TO MAKE BULGUR WHEAT".

I put water on fire.
I added a table spoonful of olive oil and a another teaspoonful of butter. When melted, I added just a cup of bulgur wheat into it and cooked for 15 minutes. Just to parboil it.

IMG_20220407_154308_53.jpg

IMG_20220407_154546_166.jpg

I allowed to cool for 5 minutes and I served myself.

Did you still think it is rice? It is not but looks very much like it.

IMG_20220407_161353_256.jpg

When you try bulgur wheat, I doubt if you will still eat rice, or at worst you alternate them. But I am so loving this bulgur wheat because it makes me lighter in weight. I am looking forward to making fried rice with this bulgur, I know for sure it will make sense 😂

Dreemport challenge has really helped, improved and brought about so many life style changes in me. In my final post for this week, I will tell you other diets I stuck to this week and how I fared.

Thanks for the visit.
Yours, Adoore-eu.

All images are mine snapped with my Infinix note 8 phone.

Sort:  

Thanks for this idea, although I try to replace my rice with bread, yam, and macaroni I still know it's pure carbohydrate.

It is the first time hearing Bulgar wheat, time to explore. I am curious about the taste.

ohhhhhhhhh look at this!!! hehehehe you are doing all kinds of wonderful things with this DreemPort challenge!!!! My sis!!! look at you go! hehehehe

I got excited when I saw this because I thought I could eat it too... i know that buckwheat - really isn't wheat , so it's gluten free.

and I thought that bulgar wheat was also gluten free - but nope. hehehehe I can't eat this - even though you're tempting me with it!

I'm so proud of how you've done through this challenge Adore ! hehehehe I love it!!! it gets me excited to see you coming back and thriving! YOu were always an amazing writer and great cook!!! so yes - you will be growing bit by bit here as you show your love for writing!!!

don't forget to post your report today!!! hehehe You need to show us how you did and then drop it into DreemPort (or - i think i dropped it for you last time hehehe)

but just get it in soon! don't miss the deadline - and i hope you did GREAT this week!!! and got your star today??? hehe

am still working on tucking in my stomach and obtaining a figure 8, you know.

Figure 8 here she come🤩🤩🤩

I don't really know about bulgar wheat but it looks delicious

The way I love rice too, do you think I can chose this food as an alternative ? 🤩🤩 Maybe I can just try it out and spot the differences.

Remember you haven't teach us how to wrap moi moi and co with that natural leaf🤔

Hi Adoore, I have never tried bulgur wheat, I have heard of it though!
Seems like you have found your rice alternative, I wonder if it is more expensive or the same price?
Have a great weekend :)

Wow. It's like i should be coming daily to your blog because you just tickle my fitness fancy.

So does that mean we're working on figure 8 today? Haha. I do know I'll be working out. Have you encouraged someone today? How about water? Drink plenty of it.

LOVE,
TEEM FIERCE ❤️


20220411_192353_0000~2.png

I thought it was rice 😅 until I took a closer look. Thanks for this educative post.