Dark Poetry: Ships to Port - by Ana Clark - Canadian Writer

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

This is my first post on Proof of Brain:

I found a lovely poetry writing contest hosted by @felixgarciap that is for new Hive users. I hardly would consider myself new so I don’t qualify. I also wouldn’t want to take away from newer users that could use the boost and inspiration.

That said, I write poetry and really wanted to join in. So I’ve written a piece that follows the theme but won’t be sharing the link in the contest post or tagging the financial supporters.

Thank you Felix for the inspiration. Today I wrote something that wouldn’t have existed if I didn’t read your contest. I wish luck to all the entrees.

632DEEE2-3846-49EF-8BED-739A5C90323A.png

2BD2C7E1-D053-4962-AD5F-B28F57C4135E.jpeg

This is a first draft. My only guideline for this poem was to include the concept of “satisfaction”. I tend to write on the darker side, even when trying not to. So, it seems that what I created was a poem about someone losing then finding and then losing her sense of satisfaction.


Ships to Port

Summer sonnets kissed my lips
when her candied words called to ships
They ported while the fire flamed
Stay, stay they must
anchor
thy insane

Time is running, running dry
The storms have rained brown eyes sty
Stay, stay they lust
anchor
their mundane

Don’t hold it back
Let the bass deep drop
She said,
she kneeled
When the ships had stopped

With her lips on mine
And the fire that flamed
Don’t hold back
She said, a/gain

So I wiped my eye
of the antique cry
Licked my lips
to taste her pleasing promise
The light was lit in the light house afar
And I knew that time was running ajar

There it was, in her stare
“don’t you understand, that I really care?
The monster is gone, I declare
Time to come out of hiding, my Dear”.

So, she washed away
the noxious peroxide
Cast away
the binding heels
Showed me a garden
to waste time in
where we laid, satisfied
and still

And with my lips on hers, fire still flamed
Years sailed by, but the ships remained
I held her close on her last day
Stay, stay you must
I don’t think
she heard me
say

632DEEE2-3846-49EF-8BED-739A5C90323A.png

Content copyright © 2021 Ana Clark

Socials:

Twitter.com/@oAnaClark
Instagram.com/ShotBy.Ana
Instagram.com/oAnaClark
Behance.net/oAnaClark

Blogs:

InnovateToInspire.com

inDecentDark.WordPress.com

Thank you for reading.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Hi @anaclark welcome to the contest and Hive. Well done. Cheers.