You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learning French: That Fearsome Gender-wall

The French language and grammar is a huge pain. People often complain about the all the exceptions in the English language and I wouldn't want to learn that one especially as an adult.

Immersion is the best way I find, but that's a hard thing to do especially these days. Film is a great way to learn or maintain that language. As with most languages, regional dialects also creep up.

Have fun learning, it'll keep that brain active.

Sort:  

I'm quite convinced I would find myself in a world of pain if I had to learn English as an adult. As a child, it was mostly schoolwork, so it didn't appear to be something alien, something hostile.

Unless you live in a community that speaks the language, immersion is mediocre at best. Still, one must keep at it.

I'm not too perturbed by the regional dialects now. Learning the core language is the primary challenge for me at this moment.