Musical Monday: R.I.P. Bill Bourne

in Proof of Brain2 years ago

I have missed a couple of weeks due to circumstances, but I learned this week of the passing of a Canadian folk music legend. Since Bill Bourne was an Alberta resident I was fortunate to be able to see and hear him live on a number of occasions, often in small venues around Edmonton. He was not only a superb and distinctive musician, but he was also humble and soft-spoken with a great sense of humour, and he did a lot to support new artists.
2O4B0830-Edit.jpg

IMG_2487-Edit.jpg

The last time I saw Bill he was playing with Lester Quitzau and Madagascar Slim as "Tricontinental". A fine trio of musicians who made wonderful music together.
2O4B8604.jpg

On that occasion he was kind enough to sign a print of a digital painting that I made of him many years ago.
2009 09 05 273_BB_3.jpg