Building with 2nd Layer Hive-Engine Tokens: Why do They Sometimes STOP?

As I have written a number of times before, I'm a big fan of the Hive Ecosystem's "Layer 2" communities and their corresponding tokens.

As part of my ongoing "account building project," I'm trying to build stake (slowly!) in various community tokens.

CC0146NightEyes.JPG

And Then Everything STOPS...???

So what does it mean when a Hive-Engine tribe or outpost with its own front end and its own token suddenly stops distributing tokens?

More specifically, what does it mean when these daily distributions of earned rewaeds suddenly stop and then just as suddenly resume days or weeks later?

Was there a "somebody" who failed to pay a bill?

And while we're at it, what does it mean that even while the distribution stops the so-called outpost/front ends remain operational, people are still posting there and at least "on paper" continue to earn rewards even though the actual flow of tokens has stopped?

I just can't quite make sense of it, but I'm not a coder or technically inclined.

CC0509PinkRoom.jpg

Supposedly I HAVE Some Rewards...?

So while we're at it, Part 2, what does it mean when I look at the "rewards" area of my Hive-Engine wallet and notice that there are certain tokens that seem to be "perpetually backed up?"

Some of the numbers for "pending rewards" are quite large, and those numbers keeps growing. But you can't "claim" them manually... nothing happens. Evidently the underlying tokenomics mechanics are still working but the current applied outcome is not?

Somehow, it leaves me with a bit of a sour taste in my mouth and a lower level of confidence in the community where I am participating. And it doesn't happen just with "weird and esoteric" communities nobody's heard of, but sometimes with very large and broadly distributed tribal tokens.

CC0541Peekaboo.jpg

Becoming a More Informed Citizen

As part of my plan to become a more regular contributor and get this blog going a little more, one of the things I'm interested in doing is exploring a number of the many Level 2 communities we have here on Hive.

Lately I've been focusing a lot of my attentions on the Proof Of Brain Community because I happen to like some of the fundamental premises, as well as some of the key people in the community but I'm also interested in exploring other communities, some of which are perhaps not as well known.

As part of that exploration I'm curious as to why some of them have what seems like almost sketchy distribution practices. What's that about? If anybody more technically inclined and/or with direct experience happens to know, I'd love to hear some details!

=^..^=

Curator Cat, April 27th, 2023

Posted using Proof of Brain

Sort:  

Most of the tribe outposts' stuff is automated and when there is a glitch, I suppose it happens that it skips a day... I think that you don't lose your curation rewards as they are just adding up in the meantime... (not 100% sure about that)

It's not that I defend some of the tribes, but it is true that some of the tribes are created by inexperienced users in coding, tokenomics, and business in general, and that's why most of them aren't doing that well unfortunately...

You're definitely right about the curation rewards continuing to accumulate... some of the ones I have been active in have actually gone as long as 60 days with no payouts, and then they suddenly resume, including the whole backlog.

I expect a lot of the people who start these also don't have any idea of how much work it takes to build and run a community to success.

=^..^=

Congratulations @curatorcat.pal! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 60 posts.
Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!