"Buy the Dip?" Nope... WORK the Dip!

Wow... these are definitely interesting times. Makes me glad I am not a "chart watcher" and I definitely feel for those whose involvement in both the Crypotosphere and the legacy markets are primarily short term oriented.

CC0147-OnDesk.jpg
This cat knows how to use a mouse!

Conventional wisdom tends to encourage people to "buy the dip" anytime an asset you're invested in takes a nosedive... and whereas that might be sound advice, many of us don't have ready cash always standing by to buy any dips.

What little we have is already invested, and all we can do is ride the rollercoaster and its ups and downs.

Within the microcosm that is the world of Hive and her many 2nd layer communities, it strikes me that the best us tiny participants can do is "step up our game" during these dips.

For many the temptation might be to step away and reduce their activity level because it feels like the potential for rewards has diminished.

CC0173-Sleepy.jpg

And I do understand that logic, if you're coming from a place where you materially depend on your content creation rewards to buy basics like bread and toilet paper.

But if you're not (dependent), the better approach would be to really focus on building during these down periods... the logic being that with lower token prices you actually end up with relatively more UNITS of staked tokens, particularly if you convert your liquid rewards and power up.

In addition, those of us who "stick to it" also "benefit" from the absence of those who do go on some kind of content creation hiatus... simply because there are fewer active people competing for the rewards pool.

It might be insignificant if you're a "whale" but to a piece of plankton like my little account, it can definitely make a difference!

At least that's my interpretation, after having looked a bit at it all, trying to figure out what I want to do next.

CC0347-OnBin.jpg

Since I am here for the long haul... this seems like a great opportunity to "WORK" the dip, since I can't afford to BUY the dip.

I have no crystal ball, of course... so there's no telling where the markets are going to go next. Could they remain depressed for a year or more... emulating the burst "Dot.com" bubble of 20-odd years ago? Sure. Could everything bounce back because the legacy financial system is shaky? Sure.

The way I see it, Hive is a viable ecosystem with a lot going on... so for me the lowest "risk" bet is simply to keep plugging away at it!

Thanks for visiting my blog, and Happy Father's Day!

=^..^=

Curator Cat 19-JUN-2022

Sort:  

It might be insignificant if you're a "whale" but to a piece of plankton like my little account, it can definitely make a difference!

This seems like sound logic. I know every day I don't create content on Hive I am missing out on an opportunity to grow. Yet, I still have days where I do not create original content even when I am upvoting and commenting on others posts.

Thanks for the reminder to maintain a steady posting schedule. untitled.gif

You're welcome!

I'm not even suggesting that anyone should get all fanatical and obsessive about posting more when things take a downturn... just that you should definitely not cut back on your existing schedule.

=^..^=

!hivebits

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | community | <>< daily

Contest: name the smallest unit of an HBIT. Enter to win 40+ HBIT or read current entries here.

Good advice

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks!

As I am sure you're well aware, there's lots of good info for people who trade $1,000s and $1,000,000s every day... but not so much for the small folks who are trying to build something on a shoestring.

"Sweat equity" can get you quite a long way...

=^..^=

I agree, my show is full of advice for the little guy.

I like your show; you cover a lot of different ground and you're an independent voice, not a "mouthpiece" for some larger organization!

=^..^=

Thank you!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I am all for the little guy, and try to do education and warnings on my show.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

It still surprises me me that so many people just stop their activity when price drops instead of cumulating tokens in that time.

Surprises me, too, @ewkaw. I suppose it just goes to show just how many people are only focused on the gains they will make in the next 24 hours. Or even less...

=^..^=

Congratulations @curatorcat.pal! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP