Curator Cat Considers: How Many Users Don't Even KNOW They Have a Hive-Engine Wallet?

Personally speaking, I think Hive-Engine and the virtual cornucopia of tokens available there — investment, tribal, mining, etc. — is one of my favorite features of the overall Hive Ecosystem.

Aside from just trying to slowly and patiently build my little Hive account, I am also working diligently on building stakes in several of our "Layer 2" tokens.

CC0271PortraitBnW.jpg

In many ways, it's a great opportunity for the Crypto newbie, in that you get to experience small scale (and not so small!) trading and investing within the relatively safe confines of our own "Hive sandbox."

But I digress.

Do You Just Not KNOW?

As cool as Hive-Engine might be, I am always amazed by how many people who are regular Hive users and contributors don't seem to even be aware that they have a Hive-Engine wallet, let alone one with a bunch of tokens "just sitting there."

How can you tell?

Well, since we have considerable transparency here, you can look at anyone's Hive-Engine wallet and see their balances.

When you see someone's Hive-Engine assets (for example) have a perfectly equal number of liquid and staked amounts across many tokens, it's a good bet there's "nothing happening" there. Same holds true if you're familiar with some of the token airdrops... and those amounts are just sitting there, intact, since the airdrop... maybe more than a year ago.

CC0241ShadowInSun1.jpg

"Lost" Income...?

In some ways, it's a shame because those tokens represent additional income that's just being left on the table, undiscovered.

I do realize that there are cases when it may just be "too complicated" for any given person, so they just don't bother, or don't care... and in many cases, we're only talking a few dollars or tens of dollars.

Then again, I have come across more than a few wallets that literally had hundreds or even THOUSANDS of dollars worth of Hive-Engine tokens sitting there, seemingly untoucher or unnoticed.

Of course, it's entirely possible I am just missing something, here! Like, maybe they know it's there, but like tossing coins in a jar on the nightstand, you do nothing until the jar is actually full!

Who knows?

I just find it curious and noteworthy.

Till the next, this is...

CuratorCat on March 17, 2023

=^..^=

Posted using Proof of Brain

Sort:  

I remember informing a PAL mod who'd been dropped a fair amount of PAL, and therefore LEO, that they had around $25,000 worth sitting in H-E. They sold the lot around the highs!

Wow! That's some serious dinero. I continue to spot people who seem to have a lot that's basically sitting there, apparently untouched... I even recognize some of the airdrops. In the thousands is not that uncommon, still. But I suppose if you already have millions, it's insignificant loose change. Must be nice!

=^..^=

Well if you use those tags you get those tokens. So maybe, people blindly use the tags because they see others doing so but don't know why.

I think that's often true @iskawrites; and people use the tags because they join a community, but don't actually understand that they are getting "Level 2" rewards.

=^..^=

I think most people just don’t know about this! It took me a while to understand this and learned to access this wallet. There should be some kind of notice board where people could browse what’s available on this blockchain. The learning curve is quite steep for non-technical people.

Yes, the learning curve is steep for the non-technical among us. If I didn't have a substantial amount of natural curiosity I probably wouldn't have learned as much as I have...

=^..^=

How is it that people can see them but I can't. I am assuming you are talking about that little red box at the top of the hive key chain. When I click on it it says you need your keys to access. I have keys but I asked someone where do you put the keys since I use a password to get into my wallet. They said I'd have to get a new wallet and use my keys just not my master key.

From the sound of what you're saying, it sounds like your Hive keychain was set up with your posting key, only. So you can't act on anything financial which would require your active key, at minimum.

Just in case, you're Hive-Engine wallet would be this (visitor view only):

https://hive-engine.com/@sunlit7/wallet

Does that mean I have to delete the wallet and get a new one? I forgot basically, it's been a long time since I've even looked at those tokens, what all that stuff meant or even what you can do with any of it.

It may just be a matter of terminology here. It's not the wallet that's likely a being the problem, it's Keychain, which is typically a browser extension (on laptops/desktops) or a free-standing app on mobile devices. I don't know which you are using, so hard to say exactly where the issue is.

Most important thing is that you have your original Steemit/Hive keys stored safely somewhere in a text file or pdf. I keep mine on a thumb drive in the desk drawer with my passport, important documents and such.

You may have to uninstall and reinstall Keychain — which is considered a "trusted app" — and set it up with the "import keys" option, for which you enter your master key once and it auto-configures Keychain correctly for whatever type of transaction you're attempting at any given moment.

=^..^=

Posted using Proof of Brain

Mine are the steemit keys and they made such a big deal about being careful using them I am not sure even though I was advised it was okay to use them.

I think most people on Hive are still using their Steemit keys. This account was created after the Hive fork, so its keys are unique to Hive.

=^..^=