Fun with Photography: POBPhotoContest — "Lines"

Time to get going with the camera again!

so I'm once again participating in @friendlymoose's weekly #POBphotocontest. This week's subject is "lines." You can read the introductory post and rules if you'd like to learn more and participate!

Lines - That Could Mean a LOT of Things!

I thought about this one for a while, trying to come up with something that's not too predictable. And I wanted to use something new, rather than something from my own extensive photo library.

Eventually, something caught my eye... and this first photo is my official entry:

CCP055Top.JPG

What is this strange pyramid? Part of some monument? An alien pyramid?

Nope, it's the top from one of our little garden lanterns, near the front of our house!

FilterTree

I probably wouldn't have noticed it, except for the "secondary line" that made it so that the little pyramid was precisely in the sun, while the rest of the lantern was in the shade!

I suppose that is one of my favorite things about photography: Looking for things that aren't as we might immediately think.

When I'm out and about, I also like to look of unusualy "coincidences" or "natural accidents" where unlikely objects end up juxtaposed, purely by chance.

It can be quite a challenge to find such things... but the hunt, itself, can be fun!

Anyway, I had a few other "candidates" I was considering for this photo challenge.

The next one is from about a week ago, taken one morning after a rather cold and rainy night. All of a sudden, the rain stopped and the sun cut through the clouds across the bay in front of our house. There are some lower foothills (1000 feet/350m) before the big mountain range and suddenly the morning mist started rising.

But we also have the LINES in the neighbor's roof!

CCP055MorningMist.JPG

I ended up not choosing that one 1st because the rooflines are a bit blurry/out of focus... mostly because they were unintentional, with this contest in mind. I was going for the mist rising...

Finally, this shot of CuratorCat in the hallway has lots of "lines" (and lines, reflected) in it, but it seemed rather too chaotic and disorganized. But this is CuratorCat's blog....

CCP055Hallway.jpg

Well, that's it for this week's contest. Thanks again to @friendlymoose for organizing the contest and offering POB tokens as prizes, and also to @good-karma who's donating @ecency points as prizes!

Thanks for stopping by and having a look!

=^..^=

Posted using Proof of Brain