Goals and Accomplishments: "Intentions" Are Never Enough!

I started off this year with many good intentions to become more active on Hive, this year.

Now we are approaching the end of April, and it rather feels like I have failed myself, in terms of following through on those intentions.

CC0542Dragonfly.JPG

It's All a Matter of Time!

Of course, I have lots of good excuses and rationalizations, most of them centered around the issue of "not having enough time."

For most people, that's a convenient "get out of jail free" excuse... because we do tend to lead very busy lives, and when you have a lot going on, it's easy to get overextended.

We often talk about the importance of retention and engagement in the Hive community... sometimes, I find myself wondering how many of our good intentions fall victim to the "time" excuse.

But I have goals, as well. And, at the going rate, I'm going to fall short...

CC0170OnStand.JPG

What Are Your Priorities?

The good news is that we still have eight months left, in 2023... so it's not too late to make up for lost ground!

Success and failure is often an issue of how we set our priorities. What's the most important thing on our list? This is particularly important when the time factor I alluded to has a major influence on your life, and your time.

We typically can't do everything, all the time. I know I certainly can't.

When we set goals — for example for an entire year — those goals are often set with the false assumption that the time we want to dedicate to something is always going to be available to pursue those objectives.

They often aren't!

Sometimes I have to pause and recognize that I should just be grateful for the steps I do have time to take! Beating ourselves up for falling short on our original goals is seldom a useful motivational tool.

It's like that old saying: "The beatings will continue until morale improves!"

Not gonna happen!

=^..^=

Curator Cat, April 24th, 2023

Posted using Proof of Brain

Sort:  

I often find that I accomplish more by doing things in the spur of the moment than by setting goals. At least that way I don't let myself down and tend to feel satisfied with all I did do that day. ;-)

Spur of the moment can often result in some great productivity, that's true... but if I stay too much in my impulses, I find that I fail to get a lot of really important stuff done... but that's just me!

=^..^=