In Order to MAKE Money, You Have to be Willing to SPEND Money... Really?

in Proof of Brain11 months ago

There's an old truism that goes something along the lines of the title of this post.

It seems to be applied to many situatations, regardless of whether you are investing or running a business. I often hear small business owners claim that they are not paying themselves because the money is "going back into the business."

CC0222InBox.jpg

My Hive Goals...

Lately, I have been pondering to what extent that idea might also hold true for our Hive endeavors.

This "experiment" is based primarily on building a Hive presence and Hive Power balance — along with a small portfolio of 2nd layer tokens — purely based on blogging and engagement.

So far, so good. I'm satisfied with building slowly.

But I've been primarily putting my liquid HBD rewards into HBD Savings, and now I'm starting to wonder whether I'd be better served by putting those liquid rewards into the Level 2 tokens I am interested in.

CC0288Wintry.jpg

I really like that 20% yield on HBD... and I like the relative safety and liquidity of HBD.

On the other hand, would there be more of a potential upside to investing in community tokens? Or even in just powering up the liquid rewards?

So far, my modest Hive-Engine token portfolio has primarily been built from blogging and curation rewards. Of course, I'm dealing with very small amounts still... but my thoughts turn towards the ways my choices today might impact my holdings five years from now.

Maybe I'm taking all this "too seriously" by treating my tiny balances like they were "high finance;" at the moment my Hive account is "worth" the princely sum of $146.55, and my Hive-Engine wallet sits at just $67.67.

But it will not always be so! And particularly not if Hive takes off in earnest, sometime during the next five years.

Investing decisions are never clear cut, are they?

=^..^=

Posted using Proof of Brain

Sort:  

Very difficult to know what to do as we couldn’t predict the future accurately. I am thinking about what the best thing to do for this year. I couldn’t possibly plan for longer than twelve months as things can change suddenly. So, liquidity is very important to me as crypto is my pocket money for daily food expenses. So, I should try to be more consistent with blogging. But unexpected happenings seemed to interfere with life often.

Hope bull market would be back sooner than later

I like some layer 2 tokens, but if I don't understand it or what it's about, I'm generally not into it. So my favorite is EDS, because it pays weekly dividends in Hive. I have enough of a few call tokens so I can tip people. I have leo and palnet in small amounts, mostly delegated so I earn some back since I don't spend enough time in those communities, the return is better for me if I delegate them. This is all speaking about my main account, lol - I've got a few 2nd layer tokens here too but not many. I think my main 2nd layer token on this account is Creative Coin. And I should have enough here to be able to call !LUV