I Might Be a Stoic or Something

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

Happiness and freedom begin with a clear understanding of one principle. Some things are within your control. And some things are not. - Epictetus

To be honest I don't have any motivation to craft a post lately due to my busy work schedule but I know that journaling has been part of my "Stoic routine". I try to journal my thoughts about the mobsters, coveeeed, vaxxx, and even my own insanity the old-school Stoic way but my handwriting sucks. I thought I needed that off screen time but writing by hand however fulfilling is so tiring. Maybe because I'm not used to it. Or maybe because it's such a sore to see my handwriting ruin a beautiful paper.

I don't have the best penmanship ever and I've known this since grade school. I had been aware of the ugliness of it especially when all the kids and teachers kept on rubbing it in my face. Now there goes my insecurity. I also have the ugliest signature and I didn't even know why I try to do cursive on my initials.

Now that I'm an adult, it's all too late to change my signature and even my own handwriting. So if ever I become a popular rockstar, I won't be able to sign autographs because it is just embarrassing. Good thing I won't be a popular rockstar. Good thing I'm much better typing my thoughts so forget about writing an actual journal the Stoic way. So here I am now typing my life away my way.

Anyway, the reason I say that I might be a Stoic is because I've created some strict structure and order in my life over the last couple of years that it would have seemed like I'm "punishing myself". I know Stoicism teaches about discipline, acceptance of anything beyond our control, and mental toughness so subconsciously I might have been already practicing Stoic values. And yet, I'm not gonna label myself as a cool Stoic chic as I haven't read any of Marcus Aurelius or Seneca's books. It's like using the word "Orwellian" in your post when you haven't actually read 1984. Or wearing a Mayhem T-shirt when you don't even know who Euronymous is. Reading random quotes or watching Youtube videos about Stoicism won't make me legit. Most of the time I just talk as if I know things. So I guess I'm just a poser Stoic or a would-be Stoic, or a wannabe Stoic - whatever you wanna call me.

I mean the point here is that I just need some guiding principle in life. One that will make me a mentally tough person especially in this literal global pandemic where we are literally trapped in one place. I read somewhere that prisoners in the old times use Stoicism to cope. Aren't we all prisoners desperately needing some kind of religion, new age booboo, or philosophy in order to bear the harshness of the modern times?

Routines keep me going and help me stay motivated. And if I don't have structure, I will just drown in my own freedom. Okay so that one is easy to follow but other Stoic teachings go against my nature. One is "letting go of control" (don't worry I might be diabolic but I'm not a control freak). As someone who likes to have everything in perfect order, my world falls apart when things don't go my way. I now I sound like a spoiled brat there but you know, it's just me here. I try to accomplish goals I set my mind into and live life on my own terms. So imagine my anxiety when things don't turn out as expected. So I guess the Stoic teaching of letting go whatever that is not within your control will help me accept the reality of things. Because no matter what I do, no matter how hard I try, there will be times when things just won't work. The universe won't always be in my favor. People will continue to suck and things will crumble. The most important Stoic principle I need to apply in my life is to not worry about those anymore and just do the right moral thing for myself. And accept the reality as it is and as they come.

I know there are also many flaws to this philosophy because how can you just accept things right? How can you just accept injustice and all the sucky people and all the sucky things they do to other people? Those things are way beyond my control and I can only control myself and my own thoughts. I'm not here to draw sword and fight y'all - this is very very tiring. I've been there and I won't go back. I'm old. People are responsible for their own lives. I'm out.

If things in my life work out as planned then I will be pleasantly surprised and grateful, the Stoic way. And if they don't, then maybe it's time to accept things especially if they are bound to happen anyway. And no, this is not a hopeless resignation, it's just refocusing my energy on things that are within my control.

Maskless, vaxxless, enjoying the greenery around. And diabolical as ever!

IMG_20210815_063555.jpg

Sort:  

It might be the flowers but you look more like a hippie to me...

I might be a hippie too or something.

I hope your foot is fine. We miss your loopy tunes!

No walkie yet:(
Here is some post-ironic music to help get you ready for the 1000-year life span while Uranus rules the first part of Aquarius...But don’t worry as that diabolical Saturn will show up at the end of the 1000-years and once again menace humanity with every type of dastardly deed possible!

No walkie yet:(

But you can write! :P

I’ll just write cranky things! lol

It's nice you try and find ways of dealing with your life from the old philosophers. I must admit, though I know a little of all the different thoughts the Greeks had back in the days, I never really dug into it. I tend to go through life using my own logic. Acceptance is super important I think, ie accepting a situation or something. For sure, when the situations are out of your control. But even, sometimes also when they are in your control. But just accepting everything is not the way to go, I believe. The best is to have backup plans for any goal one sets. Essentially the question one shall try to answer: "What makes me happy, and what if I can't reach this or that goal? What is the minimum I need to be and/or stay happy?" The answer to those questions becomes the baseline in life. I personally think this baseline is all about who you like to be, what peeps you like to have around you and enjoying the moments whatever moments they are. Anything else becomes irrelevant. Not saying that no other goals can or shall be set (eg certain income, certain job, certain place of living), but when the goal is not achieved or reachable, acceptance becomes easier.

Gosh I've almost forgotten to reply to this comment! I have just become interested in Philosophy later on in life when I couldn't rely on my own logic and strength anymore lol. I was looking for some guiding light. Yes I agree acceptance doesn't mean not having any back up plans and just staying put doing nothing at all. If things don't go our way, no matter how hard we try, I think it's best to accept it as a lost cause and proceed to the next course of action. It's not giving up but just avoiding waste of time and effort (especially if we couldn't afford it) and thinking what would be the best in a given situation.

💯 🙃

ps never too late to respond 😉

"just do the right moral thing for myself" - very right said, but the whole thinking is a little bit escapists - the new rules forcing will force you as well from maskless, vaxxless way of living.
I not used any jab and have to escape these chemicals and biological experiments on me, as well many of my friends are thinking the same way, and only the way to stay Maskless, waxless is to be together and to support each other. Our government as in many other countries is trying to force vaccination, isolation, and many other new normal. I can't get this "normal".
Anyway, Stoicism is the old school and it's why I love it.

I'm enjoying being maskless vaxxless for as long as I can - I know my life will about to become very difficult if I don't succumb to their rules ...

It's the best time to be Stoic - our times forcing us to be mentally tough!

Thanks for the comment. ☺️

yes, you're right. good luck to all the civilization and to us specifically 💗💗💗

!LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@diabolika, you've been given LUV from @victorbz.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/1)

Maskless, vaxxless, enjoying the greenery around. And diabolical as ever!

maskless, vaxless the only way to be {smile} ... I dedicated a song to you in my Monday mix... I believe you will get the message {grin}

I got it !🙏☺️

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more