An interview with a Musician on "Beat Block" as some are it inspired

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

Hello All, welcome to my first ever interview! Now I'm not sure how theses things are meant to go so in classic failingforwards style I am going to wing it.

Now my good friend @stayten is a very creative musician and artist who is very open about his art, mental states and process. Please do go check out some of his work

https://peakd.com/hive-193816/@stayten/circus-elephant-troll-music-track
https://peakd.com/hive-158694/@stayten/even-more-anxious-can-you
https://peakd.com/hive-150329/@stayten/the-math-doesn-t-make

He often talks about this thing called Beat Block which always intrigued me and I imagine others. Luckily he agreed to a short interview on the subject so I could learn more. Below is @stayten views on beat block , enjoy!


You have mentioned beat block a few times, could you describe it for someone who has not experienced it?

It's somehow very similar to what I call "Life-Block" => Like when you lose your desire to live, don't feel like interacting with people, even your close friends, don't wanna go to work that day, that week, month, etc...

I believe it happens to anyone trying to create something valuable to them, and by the way; it applies to almost everything not just creative art... So, for that someone who has not experienced it, they did in a way

It sucks, as in:
1- That shit sucks / 2- It sucks the energy out of you

If you wish to know how (I) experience it, you can read my piece here: @stayten/the-damn-beat-block

When do you find it most occurs?

Anytime I feel good about my work, it finds me

How often would you say it occurs?

Often... First date was awful though

What can you do to move past it, any techniques?

Yes, I take a break and get depressed, watch boring YouTube videos and listen to my old wacky beats so I don't feel very bad about myself... And honestly, there's no technique that works every time but I do find my way eventually

Have you found it to be something that affects a lot of artists?

Sure! Google this: 'Reddit beat block'

Anything else you would like to share about the beat block?

image.png
https://tenor.com/view/focus-homer-simpson-monkey-cymbals-gif-14075286


So I learnt heaps from this and felt the need to try to put it down on paper which inspired the below (thankfully no artist block occurred during this process)

1622509691952.jpg

Project 20 (1).jpg

Project 20 (1) (1).jpg

Project 20 (2) (1).jpg


Project 21 (3).jpg

Project 21.jpg

Project 21 (1).jpg

Project 21 (2).jpg

1622524805311-02.jpeg


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Good news for you, I broke out of the block, seems your work of art helped!

Congratulations @failingforwards! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 200 posts.
Your next target is to reach 250 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I have had writer's block before the feeling really sucks,you wouldn't be able to write anything and it makes you question yourself like why am I even writing or is it even worth it.

I was surprised at how common it was once I started asking around