You curate posts, but do you curate who you follow?

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

Again, as it seems to be my style, I have once again been motivated to write based of someone elses much better blog. of @madstacks I only follow less than 30 people and its GOOD

So when I first started I was, as all people tend to be, very new and very naive. I followed anyone who passed a vote my way and before i knew it I had over 100 people I was following. Unfronutily this means my feed was a mess of people, not messy people, just a mess of concepts I was not really that interested in myself.

As such, I was never using my feed and it was not until madstacks post I realised how cluttered it was, so i cleaned it down to...90 ! Ok bear with me this is the start of a long journey, not the end but I thought i would share my steps I took (this is my own approach based on my preferances!). I want to be clear what my aim was and guiding principle "how can I best find posts I can engage with in a meaningful way"

  1. Remove all the rebloggers. I have no problem with reblogging but some people reblog everything (and some are bots who are meant to) and it really adds a lot of chaos to the feed. The odds are low that the post reblogged will be something I can add value to. Also most of the people I follow will reblog occasionally so I still get fresh content and ideas.
  2. Remove those in languages I don't know and don't translate to my language. This is not because I think posts should be in English! It's because I am not as skilled as a lot of bloggers here who know many languages, therefore I cannot engage and add value to their posts, I could blindly upvote but that feels wrong. I would hope they would do the same to mine if they don't understand English!
  3. Topics, while I have a variety of tastes and am fine when people explore different things, some people like to blog about one thing. That is great that they have a passion but if you blog about motorcycles all day I can't really engage and add value
  4. Posting, if you never post then how can I engage.

Ok hopefully this was taken in the right vain and people understood who I was applying it and the reason why!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

I follow pretty much the same rules. I am also very elaborate with my subscription, just leaving a nice comment might proc my follow.

However, I am also fast with deleting people from my feed and the nr.1 reason is as well too much reblog, the second can actually be too much posting, one that you might have to watch out for ;), but most people I follow post rarely but then high quality. If that gets drowned by someone posting 5 times a day some low effort posts, I will remove the "spam". Not saying your posts are low effort or spam, I personally like you since you done a lot for my Lotto, so its unlikely to bother me too much but somebody else might just not follow you because you are posting more than once or twice a day.

Btw most of the accounts I follow are dead, that is why I would state quite the opposite of your fourth rule: 'You can't get unfollowed if you dont post.' Why would I unfollow someone who doesnt post? It does not disturb me in any way and he might still one day decide to post something.

Thanks for the input and your right about the posting, still a bit keen at this stage but I promise I'll slow down eventually. Do you know if all post appear on feed or just blogspot?

I am pretty sure all posts appear in the feed.

Maybe as an insider tip:

I also really like to just slice on a topic and let a discussion develop in the comments, however this is not what hive likes. For my League of Legends post I thought as well: I might just end it here (at a third) and see what people will say. But then I was like: 'mhh I can just monologue a bit more to make a longer, better paying post'. It worked much better than I expected :)

Like I said, personally I dont mind as long as some of your posts spike my interest, which they do. However some communities like memehub even have a rule that you can't post more than once a day.

Hey thanks that's great advice, I do need to go for longer posts like you said even if, like you, I prefer to do a slice and not overwhelm. And it's what hive seems to like

I'm with you there, people who reblog every fucking thing do my tits in.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I've been following almost active user that writing article through proofbrain.io and curate others post mostly that using tag proofofbrain in front end and writing through proofofbrain.io using my tribe account


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I also came across the exact post too few days ago and i did find time to make some changes to my connections.

It was then i realised that out of the 500+ people i follow most of them are actually bots from steemit days while some are just dead accounts that never came to hive or have lost their keys one way or the other.

I started to click the unfollow button and when i was done, i was only left with 250 real and active user. will be doing this mothly or anytime am free to be able to navigate my way through the feeds.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Wow that is a real cull! I only got 10 percent of mine

Yes it is. i was so surprised.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

!LUV

Hi @marvinix, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @failingforwards. Having at least 5 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV tokens in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

Thats a good point about the reblogging, I also find it quite messy to look at when overdone!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Glad it'd not just me :)

I am not as skilled as a lot of bloggers here who know many languages

google translator extension can help you, i know english, but it is 3 am here, and i want to read your post, I clicked on the extension and read it in my native language, and here i am commenting

if you blog about motorcycles all day I can't really engage and add value

I totally agree, most of the posts I don’t comment on are because I see that I don’t have much or nothing to add, but if it’s good quality content, I vote for my curator


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Had not thought of that!

I'm in the process of completely changing the way I curate and trimming who I am following is part of the strategy. I used to never follow more than about 80 people now I am up to 360 and when I look at my following feed I can't for the life of me understand why I am following some of them . lol.

I have been manually curating POB and LEO for some time and just recently turned my auto vote off and will start to manually curate Hive also. I will probably add some of my favorite auto vote accounts to my following feed and try to catch their posts manually as I can and as VP allows.

My question is... is there an "unfollow all" button I can press? ;)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Maybe a new proposal...