Everyone Can Become A Graphic Designer!

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

Graphic Design TN.png

A lot of you POB folks have been complimenting me about the graphics I use in my posts. I have been getting messages on discord from people asking me how do I do them. So here's a quick (read lengthy) post I am publishing to show you what tools I use to create them with ease & efficiency. I love to make my life and other's life more comfortable. That's why I am writing this post. It will include enough details to get you started!

Do you think am I some kind of graphic ninja? Lol, no. I am not!

It's just that I have done this so many times in the past 2-3 years that now I have a sense of selecting precise colors, fonts, lines, shadows, and other graphical elements. It's mostly about experimenting with various tools that are available in the software you are using. I always try different combinations to see which works the best. Gradually you will develop your own style. Learning is a never-ending process to keep at it.

Things You Need To Become A Kickass Graphic Designer

1. Laptop & Wifi

2. Canva & Creativity

That's it. Most people do not need photoshop for doing 80% of their stuff and that's enough. Photoshop or any other Adobe Tools (aka High-level designing tools) are not necessary to create impactful graphics. Creativity is! The high-level tools require you to develop editing skills over a long time, they cost huge money, take huge space on your hard drive, eat away a decent amount of your processing power. They are not worth it for the majority of our graphic design needs. They are perfect for graphic design professionals who make money out of it because they are required to do lots of customizations as per clients' needs. A tool like Canva is for an average content creator like you & me who would like to create sassy graphics on daily basis with no complexity and high efficiency.

A Graphic Is Worth 10K Words

When it comes to digital media, you can follow this rule: Video > Graphics > Text

A good video is more impactful than a good graphic and then comes the simple plain text. Social media is a mixture of all of them! In reality, it is easier to scan through a graphic or short animation (GIF) than watching (and listening to) a video or reading lengthy text. GIF is nothing but a series of different photos or frames put together on a loop of 3-5 seconds. You can say a lot more in a very small timeframe and screen space. I mostly use the combination of all of these to increase the attention span of my audience.

Canva

Canva is free to use graphic design web app where you can design basically anything you can think of. There are extra features which are only available in their PRO Version. I have been using it for the past 1 year or so and now I don't use any other tool to create graphics which I mostly post on social media websites and also some of my client work. Hence, a little investment of $12.95 per month is totally worth it. Every serious content creator on POB & HIVE can easily afford it. If you can't, just use the free one. There are other versions available which are for groups and organizations. Choose anyone that suits you!

screely-1623993458617.png

Canva Design School

It's the best place to learn graphic design in general and also using Canva provided features. There are numerous courses, tutorials and blogs are available to give you enough information in various forms of media. Some of the topics I find interesting are related to Personal Branding and Social Media Marketing. They keep on updating this list depending upon the latest design trends. The recent course I have seen is about how to use presentation to express and impress.

screely-1623994494665.png


Templates

This is the most powerful tool feature of Canva. It does make your life easy. Personally I like to be highly productive with my editing. Just drag & drop, make simple changes and you are done. Sometimes, after writing a post you do not get enough time to create a great thumbnail from scratch. Normally it would take 20-30 minutes (sometimes more) if you do enough customizations while setting up the font, color, style, background color etc. But with canva's templates, it just takes 5 minutes. Apart from thumbnails, you can create literally anything.

screely-1623995034761.png

Also, using templates provide you an edge and a direction to make further changes according to your needs. Consider these two images shown below. I have created the thumbnail for one of my recent posts made on Leo Finance:

screely-1623995772848.png

screely-1623995765368.png

First image was a canva template which was about Gaming I guess. It was turned into a DeFi related thumbnail. Did you notice the changes I made? I replaced the Gaming Remote on the left with an Insurance Protection Graphic which I found under from the elements tab while using the Canva Editor. Font has been changed completely with shadow effect. Also a background image has been added! Just in 5 minutes, a brand new, professional looking thumbnail is ready. You can choose thousands of different templates from their library. Just remember, always start with a template. Try creating a mindmap of your thoughts today. 😁

screely-1623996361811.png


Color Palette Generator

Color combination would make or break the theme of your photo. Sometimes, I see pictures posted on Instagram and I feel like copying their color theme. Did it ever happen to you? No problem. With Canva color palette generator, you can easily copy color palette by uploading the photo. It's so simple.

screely-1623996887332.png

In the above picture, can you see how they even tell you the name of the colors present in the picture your have uploaded. 😂 It's crazy to realize there is an unlimited number of colors and their combinations. One can also explore other palettes, customize or create their own using this tool.

screely-1623997006918.png


Design Size Guide

Canva provides a very cool webpage which lists down the design sizes in pixels, cms or inches of different industry standard templates like Documents and Social Media.

screely-1624000316046.png

If you take Facebook for example, it accepts 7 types of graphics with different sizes. Similary you can get this data for Document templates like Brochures, Flyers, Invitation Cards etc. Also for other social media websites like Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest etc.

screely-1624000485075.png


Logo Maker

It's not one of the best logo makers but it can save you a lot of money and time to create a simple branded logo for your brand. The one you see in my DP which says 'FING' is made through this tool. Do you even know how much it costs to get a professional logo done? It costs a lot. In fact I have sold Canva made logos to my clients for $30-50. Just imagine, 10-15 mins for that much money. Not a bad deal, right? This is how you can do it. There are enough templates covering so many industries, so you should be good.

screely-1624000911922.png


Canva Photo Editor

Canva has one of the best photo editing tools. Drag & Drop & Edit & You are done. Combine it with the templates and you can create amazing things. The best thing I like about is the the type of effects you can put on your text. You can create powerful headings in different styles with these options.

screely-1624001598524.png

You can even animate your graphics in different styles. This is very helpful while making GIFs, presentations and even short videos.

screely-1624001834988.png


Photo Library

In association with Pexels, a free stock photo website, Canva provides free & premium photos from different categories & tags which you can use to edit your own graphics. I often find great background images here which I use in the thumbnails. Millions of high quality images at your fingertip.

screely-1624002099104.png

Canva has developed so many features over time and they keep on adding new ones. It's almost impossible to list all of them in one blog. I hope this gave you enough ideas and pointers to get started with your first design. Just remember, the more you practice, the better you will get. Consistency will also help you convert one template into several different designs quickly. I hope you will use this tool to its full potential. Please let me know your favorite features if you already know about it.

Screely

Many people ask me how I take those astonishing MacOS like screenshots. Sometimes back I was looking at Product Hunt a product listing websites which features new products and ideas. I found screely when it was quite a basic platform. Now it has grown a lot. Did you notice the difference between these two pictures?

image.png

1

screely-1624004187625.png

2

Which one looks better? The second one has been through screely magic. :') You can also choose to do a few more settings like change the color of the window buttons to grey. This is one of my favorite tools and all the images in my post except the thumbnail, goes though screely after I am done editing them on Canva. Just go to this link and follow the simple steps: https://www.screely.com/. If you need a tutorial on this, let me know in the comments.

Remove.BG

Did you ever want to cut yourself out from the background, so that you can paste your beautiful onto something else. Use https://www.remove.bg/. Although Canva has an inbuilt background removing tool but this one works better. With canva you still have to do some retouches but remove.bg works mostly with a single click.

screely-1624004660790.png

I hope these tools will help you in your graphic design and content creation journey. For the longest of time I have struggled myself to create high quality graphics. Canva has helped me become a better one than most people out there. You can do it to. Please share your thoughts and feedback in the comments below. If you like this blog, don't forget to upvote and share it with everyone who could use it. Also, if you know any great graphic editing tools which provides unique features, let me know.

Twitter.png

https://twitter.com/finguru6


finguru#4062


Let's get visual!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

I love love love Canva. Have been using it for years.
I found Photoshop to be way too complicated. Do you use Photoshop too?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Me too! Canva is a huge savior for me. Best tool ever made for content creators like me.

Yes I used to use Photoshop a lot. Now I don't do it unless I need to do something that's not available anywhere else.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yes, of course, you are a graphics ninja! 😄

Thanks for putting together this detailed article on graphics. I use canva too for my images but I realize it takes continuous practice to get better at it.

Your article will really come in handy. Great work! 🙂

Thank you so much Kemmy. Learn by doing is the best way to become a better designer. I always read about latest trends and try new features. I play with them as much as I can.

Also I try to replicate different templates and end up making something else entirely. It's so much fun! Sometimes I get good results. Sometimes I get potty. 😂 But that's ok.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

No way!

You are a graphic ninja already

I am bookmarking this page, and reblogging this post

It has touch value to get lost in the crowd.

Thank you so much for the lessons

But do you think one can access all of these important features in the free version of canva?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you so much @edystringz! Glad I could help.

But do you think one can access all of these important features in the free version of canvas?

Free version does the job pretty well but if you want more flexibility in terms of editing options, pro version is the way to go. For example, you are making like a $1 every day from Hive, you can afford Canva by posting for 13 days. It's quite cheap. ;)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Interesting read. Used to have a lot of interest in graphics designing till I slowed down a bit. Might be getting back into it soon. You are indeed a graphic ninja to know all this. Thanks for sharing, this will prove very useful


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks a lot man. Glad that you find this useful. I love experimenting with canva. They have crazy templates which can easily put you in a much better position. Then you just need to play with the options.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I was new to the world of designing yet canva made it easier and interesting for me. Though I am not that experienced as you are @finguru. However, I love working on canva.
I wanna know if the libraray of tutorials you told about is free or has some cost?

Yes @amberkashif. Canva made it so easy for me to create them so quickly while not compromising on the quality.

I wanna know if the libraray of tutorials you told about is free or has some cost?

They are totally free. Checkout their Youtube channel as well. They publish amazing tips there. ;)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks for the guide

thanks for introducing us to CANVA. We will increasingly need to improve the look of our posts

Yes man. Presentation is very important as a content creator.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks boss you just make the design easier and well interesting for me . God bless you I love it so much


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I've always want to learn graphics design when I was a teenager. I doubt if I will still have the interest and moral to learn it now but if I will see a tutor I will give it a try.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

All the best @da-prince, ultimately it depends on your passion. If you enjoy doing it, you will keep on doing it.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

yes is totally passion, I guess I focused my attention on something else when i didn't get the opportunity to go for the training.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Laptop & Wifi

The first and must important 😂


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Lol, @malopie. Most important. Without those things you won't be able to do shit. 😂


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Congratulations @finguru! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you so much for this post. As a beginner in graphics design, I was becoming very frustrated with using photoshop and searching the entire YouTube site just to find a good tutorial.