The most scary experience of my childhood

in Proof of Brain2 years ago (edited)
Oh! Just continue eating those gaint rat's head he said. I just want to remind you that when we left to the farm and you are all alone, they will surely come for you by turning into your shadow and hunt you down.

This was my elder brother speaking to me, while I held and was devouring a gaint rat head in my hand.

As soon as I heard him say this, a chilled cold was sent down my spine and I totally lost my appetite.

This was just his way of paying back for all the atrocities I had commmited towards him when ever Dad is around and I knew he won't dare lay a finger on me.

I was just an 8 years old kid, and mom has been away spending sometimes with grandma for the past two months.

So is just three of us around, Dad, My 17years old elder brother and I

My Dad was a big time hunter, and there was always some bush meat caught by his trap. Being dad's favorite, I always got the lion share of those meat, even if my brother was the one who always had to go to the farm with dad. Heheh! This was just one out of many of my sins towards him.

So when ever dad was away, he has to do some pay back by making sure he stopped me from eating my favorite part of the meat.

We had a hut house far away from town, by then it was just only our hut there, there were no other settlers yet. It was jut dad, my brother and I and once in a while when mom would come back from town to check on us and bring some provisions.

After a while of him scarring me to stop eating gaint rat head
1635450135163.jpg

I started seeing my shadows chasing me, in my dreams when I slept at night. So at the afternoon when he has gone to farm I will hide myself inside the hut until he came back, I will be so scare to death before he comes back. And if I wanted to follow him to farm he will refuse and told me that I was too small to go to the farm.

So I had no other options than to hide inside till he comes back.

All these actually happened because dad traveled for about five days. So, when my dad finally came back and I narrated everything to him, he told me not to mind my brother and while will I even be eating gaint rat in the first place when he can get me better meat like Grass cutter, antelope, squirrel and so on.

So, that was how I stopped eating gaint rat uptil to day. And since I spoke with my dad my nightmares stopped.

But those period he was away, it was hellish, though I was no longer scared of what my brother told me, I could never forget the experience.

This is my entry post to this #pobphotocontest Here by @friendlymoose you still have some few days to post yours if you have not participated yet.

Since we don't do Halloween in Nigeria I have decided to share my childhood most scariest experience and I hope you enjoyed reading it.

First and third image, are my original photography. It was taken using my Techno Poviour 2, with the basic black and white settings.
While the second photo was gotten from shouttershot.com

Happy Halloween to you my friends.

Sort:  

Oh, I really dislike rats.
When I check your first photo it seems like the rat has crawled in your shadow 😳
I see two little round black eyes.

Lol, there were no rats on the first photo.

I see two little round black eyes.

Even me i still wonder how those eyes were formed when I took the shot.

I guess maybe my phone camera was in halloween mood.
When I was editing the whole thing yesterday, I prayed myself not have nightmare.


Posted via proofofbrain.io