Day 7 & 8: POB for Ecency: Research

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

image.png

You get to feel the meaning of frustration sometimes when building a puzzle with a missing piece. It is something of a not so well kept secret that the Hive-Engine and Tribal Dex sites do not have APIs on them. Scot Bot has a bunch of documentation over at GitHub. I have full account values including the POB liquid token and POB liquid state. Looking at a certain user m------s his account value on ecency is reported as nearly $3,000 but in the new client it is reported as almost $9,000.

Ecency shows $13 for v-------o.pob but the new client which includes the POB amount shows $5,000. Now, it's easy for me to get a bit excited here. Looking at mine, my account value is over $30,000. Now, suppose we could push the price of Proof of Brain to $5 rather than 80¢....

Right now, the prices are a hard coded constant. I am going to use these constants to estimate vote value.

I want to see if we can get the token up to $5/, and with a better UI, this will be a good start. We should also try to get a way to have wrapped POB on other chains.

Do you guys think we should hide this information from view in the UI so that only those logging in should see it? (A programmer could still find this out with the right patience and tools) Should we leave the Hive value part in the Hive section and only show the POB portion of the value in the Proof of Brain section?

Sort:  

Personally, I think it's a nice feature to see the values of both, but seeing the POB value is really cool to see for the account you showed.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Do you guys think we should hide this information from view in the UI so that only those logging in should see it?

Yes

Should we leave the Hive value part in the Hive section and only show the POB portion of the value in the Proof of Brain section?

Yes


Even though POB is part of the HIVE community, I believe that there must be this differentiation, since we are working to grow and be an independent community.

I'm looking forward to seeing how the UI is doing


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You could have seen your POB token value on https://hivestats.io/@leprechaun and experienced the swelling of the pants a bit earlier. I'd personally prefer that any $ values were removed from the front end altogether, it's a distraction and some people are too easily changed by the prospect of "fat gains". Greed creeps up on people.

Just my two cents.

Why $5 by the way?

I noticed you 100% upvoted @madstacks last burn post, does that mean that you're looking to maximize your percentage ownership of all POB?

edit: I forgot that you are on vempromundo's curation trail, that may be the reason for the vote. I was puzzled when I saw it because you left a message recently in discord about the burn posts. My bad.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I thought we were going to have enough negative price pressure because of the weak BTC price but I guess I was wrong. The POB price passed 2 Hive/POB briefly. The POB price doesn't seem to care.

$5 / coin was the price of BTC when I started watching the price. I thought "wow, that's more than the pound."

POB is held up by a couple of buyers who are purchasing using rewards gained within the HIVE blockchain (DPOS doing its thing). I don't see the value in looking at the POB token price until we have a wider spread of buyers. It just takes one larger stakeholder to say "fuck it" and the whole price bellies out.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

hence a need for an organized chat on voice, we've chatted awesomely for a couple hours was it? @ calumam and think of getting people together of all 'ranks' and just humanizing each other and feeling out what's going on. I invest but not in things but not outta pressure and unfortunately am not looking to throw money into hive again unless the next HF isn't some avalanche that kills off the middle class which is barely existent as it is.
DPOS is what it is, imho it has inherent flaws and that's that, we have to work together and around things to reach some sort of consensus about where this "hot new token" is going
it is up to all of us who are willing to put in some elbow grease where they see potential. For me the networking can and has paid off bigtime which is nice in addition to the whole ride. It's very funky and experimental feeling and that's why am into it but it has to have more investors and after the huge tumble in the market people are feeling uneasy. time will tell :)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Do you guys think we should hide this information from view in the UI so that only those logging in should see it?

I agree with @vempromundo and I say yes, I think like the same way @calumam exposes in his reply, but I say more.

I don't like to show how much the crypto I have worths in fiat, either for the State or for unknown people, it is something that bothers me on most platforms, and I say more, considering the Brazilian reality, in the future, it can be a risk, for us Brazilians to have all this information presented on other platforms because we have many people who are not afraid to steal who they believe has many resources.

Requiring a login is the basics, and if we can have the option to hide or show if the user wants, it would be a good one too. At least the value in fiat. Let's the greed and bad people do at least the math.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I also thought wrapping POB to other chains was a good idea but do not know the technical part of how to accomplish this. Also when I wrote a post to Wrap POB discussion someone wrote a valid question “is there a demand for it.”


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I thought about this question in my sleep and I would ask myself the same question about wrapped LEO. Although Hive is the most economical chain for POB, it is a bit restrictive in what you can do with it. Suppose you had services which would allow you to trade POB for wrapped POB on say Ethereum. Users who are pissed off at Eth for the high fees users can come and buy up wrapped POB with a smart contract and trading from POB to wrapped POB should have very short spreads because they are the same coin.

I would love to see Wrapped POB personally. Having other options is always good imo.

Can't wait to see how things turn out to be. Keep up the good work.
The new UI will be a much better idea.
!PIZZA !LUV


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Connect

Trade


@leprechaun! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @marvinix.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Hi @leprechaun, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @marvinix. Holding at least 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM