A new resolve/non negotiables

in Proof of Brain2 years ago

Something shifted in my environment two days ago. Not in my physical environment, but in the realm of my spirit. A fresh resolve was birthed in me. I began to awaken to the things I used to tell myself were non negotiable in a relationship with someone.

As you grow in this world, you learn to adapt to a certain kind of disappointment when you realize that nothing is really black and white. There are rarely two clear cut options or paths to take. It's not really about a kettle or a pot, or whether a man is handsome or rich. It's the totality of all the features and behaviour that you're willing to accept and those you're willing to overlook in order to love wholly.

For me, I've come to realize that big on my list now is ensuring that the rest of my life is spent in communion with uniformity and the life force that births it. I need a single source of truth to guide me from a creator I believe in and I need whoever I will be doing life with to be on the same page about this.

Recently, I've had to relearn that human efforts and love are grossly insufficient. There's so much to prune in us, there is so much messiness to cause us to hurt other people willingly, callously, even as we profess with hands raised to strike, that we love them dearly. The irony is that we cannot see the caricature we make of ourselves in action, and it is observers and recipients of our cognitive dissonance who have to point it out to us.

nick-fewings-ka7REB1AJl4-unsplash.jpg

I cannot live without kindness and forgiveness. I cannot be in fellowship with a person who does not believe in forgiveness and in the principle of turning the other cheek. It sounds idealistic. It is idealistic. It is strange and I don't claim to have achieved such idealism. Yet, I am a firm believer in iron sharpens iron, so I know that even if I fail, what matters is that I fail not with intention, but that I fail while trying to achieve this ideal. I also would really love to know that I have a partner who is equally striving to achieve this and is actively helping me out when I fall.

There's nothing as beautiful as love. It has become important for me to know what someone means when they say they love me. What I mean when I say or think it. Love can feel like wrath to a child when it comes in the form of correction or an unexpected yell if a parent found them trying to put their hand out into the fire. Yet, it is love. Love is not money. It is not lust. It is not possession. It is freedom to pursue more love. It is a thing that covers so much wrong. It is a thing that aims to take you from the mundane and passing heaven and earth. It transcends. Love is non negotiable for me.

Sort:  

Human relationships are quite intricate and fragile. It takes a lot of physical, emotional and spiritual energy to sustain. At some point, the whole endeavour seems futile and unimportant. But as you said, love is the most beautiful thing.

I have experienced growth in character through love. I know what it means to be patient with someone who often you don't get to see eye-to-eye on so many subjects. I have learnt how to be firm and flexible simultaneous.

For me, conflict resolution is probably the most important part of a relationship. How do we handle each other when things hit the fan? Can we find our way back to ourselves when we are torn apart? Many people never get to answer these questions until it's too late.

Hi lizzyblue2,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @lizzyblue2! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 5000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 18