A reply to @Whatsup ... and allowing bad ideas to proliferate...

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

What started out as reply, kinda turned into post - One that is relevant.
So I made it into post.

Everything that @whatsup said was pretty accurate, which is fine if you're focusing on the small picture.

NONE of my posts are focusing on the small picture.
Hive was the acting as 'the petri dish' of a social experiment.
A successful experiment (unfortunately).

You can read her entire comment in here...
https://peakd.com/hive-150329/@lucylin/proof-of-no-brain-is-exposed-by-using-the-having-skin-in-the-game-as-a-valid-argument

lane-3596034_1920.jpg



Here's the reply....
@whatsup...

You miss my point entirely.
As I've said (many times) - I am intentionally framing HIVE as the ecosystem.
Not 'a' ecosystem... 'The' ecosystem.

That being the case (i.e there is 'nowhere else to go' in this thought experiment), the ecosystem is a tyrannical one.

Now, imagine if the DPoS ideology and system was suddenly transposed to actually cover the entire world.

Would you like your children and grandchildren to live under this system ? (90% being of 'the peasant class' and under the non judicial, and totally arbitrary decision making of 'our lords and masters'- large stakeholders).

No...rule...of...law...(laws being the manifestation of societies moral codes).

As part of experiment, I then railed against 'the system' to illustrate the weaknesses inherent in it.
It's not that very different than feudalism of the middle ages.
No 'law', just arbitrary decisions based on who has 'the power'.

So.... continuing with this thought experiment...I then decided to speak out about it, pointing out the qualities of DPoS.

The results are very, very clear.
This is no different to how 'dissent' was dealt with any 'uprisings'.
No different.

Think about it...
I am one person in , say, 4000 users on Hive... and just look at 'the power' that has descended upon the single voice of dissent.

If you cannot see this, I really don't know what to say.

So yes, believe it or not, I do understand how it all works.
And 'Opt in' only applies if their is somewhere else to go.

Would you like your children to be have no other option but a mandatory 'opting in'. (think the USSR)

....And if they spoke out?
They were victimized just because they didn't have 'power?'

DPoS is the modern version of a 800 year old system.
I think modern day feudalism is NOT the way to go.

pebbled.jpg

My experiment illustrated this perfectly.

The lack of growth over 4 years, and the abysmal retention rates show quite clearly how many people wish to 'opt in' and how many do not wish to.
(...and yeah,I think that the current marketing campaign will not yield results, as a result of this - and not because the marketeers are not doing their job.... 'Lipstick on a pig', and all that..)

Morals (integrity being a part of that), are human qualities.

Social structures require a moral framework to function properly...
We are moral beings.

We have 'free' societies because we are moral beings - and use law to enforce these morals codes.

DPoS (feudalism - you get paid for producing and pleasing your masters) is without moral code.
DPoS encourages the mindset of non moral actions.
Might is right.
This is a regressive mindset - not some new, 'modern economy' model.
The system will not endure.
History tells us this to be so - over and over again - this is not my hypothesis, it's verifiable.

My framing of DpoS was intentional - so as to isolate it, and in doing so, raise the much broader issues that I was trying bring up.
For clarities sake, isolating Hive and using it as 'the ecosystem' worked .

Principals scale up.

My point was to show (through action) the reality of the structure - which couldn't have been illustrated better - or any clearer - than if I'd actually paid someone to do it!
(which I suppose I did pay for - if you calculate in the downvoting)

Bad ideas can grow if they are not challenged.

Imagine DPoS - as the accepted system of running things.
It's a bad idea.. (feudalism, tyranny, etc)

Now ....imagine it going totally unchallenged, and it resulted in your children growing up under such a system - Simply because it was allowed to go unchallenged and grow .
(no 'opt in' option, not in this 'brave new world').

This was never anything to do with Hive.

Only the reactive, brain dead, avaricious people at the top, see it this way.
Why?...
Because my criticisms brought out the philosophical truths, and the lack of moral responsibility... ('evil', being the lack of moral responsibility).

This was an experiment in a controlled environment.
Hive being that environment.

An experiment that has - unfortunately - returned the results that I fully expected.

All now fully observable, through actions - for the world to see.

This was never about hive - it was far more important.

This was all about seeing the dangers of letting a bad idea proliferate.

Blockchain has such fantastic potential - Something can can change the world for the better.

DPoS as a 'new model' or 'economic system', or 'system of governance' - is not fulfilling that potential.
The weaknesses of it are now glaringly obvious to anyone with any moral code and an IQ over 94.

I wasn't joking when I said 'parents who support DPoS as a system, support the enslavement of their own future generations'.

I don't have kids, just a granddaughter - not even genetically connected - but I'll be fucked if I'll ever be silenced - and let her be a slave to the very same type of low IQ, morally bankrupt moron wankers, who just loooove to exhibit their power over others on here....

pebbled.jpg

By not 'standing up' and instead, sucking up to the said (sad) morons, it's endorsing this system.
Either through silence, or support.
I have emails from users on here supporting my stance, but too afraid to speak up from fear of retribution..How twisted is that in an 'opt in' system? ..A culture of fear in a voluntary system? Seriously? It's absurd.

It's a system that I would hate for my grandchild to be forced into.

It's a disgusting thought.

Just imagine if the low IQ brain cancer of marxism, was held in check in the early days...

No USSR, and holmodors and 30 million corpses.
No 100 million Chinese deaths.
No Cambodia with - with nearly A QUARTER of it's population exterminated.

....yeah - they were all someone's kids, to...

... all because of bad ideas not being held in check...

I hope this clarifies my position.

This has nothing to do with Hive, and all to do with allowing bad ideas to go unchallenged.
Bad ideas going unchecked + the butterfly effect = misery for future generations.

Some people can turn a blind eye to moral wrongs in the name of avarice, greed, and power - and fuck the future generations prosperity.
The type of people with that kind of 'nasgul mindset', who lack of any moral responsibility, and who have no ability to see the bigger picture are my adversaries....bless.

I'm not - nor will ever be - one of those people.

...How's Mr Whatsup doing nowadays, btw? - Good, I hope !

lane-3596034_1920.jpg

Sort:  

TL:DR - Yeah they can be jerks, and I am not letting them adopt my kids.

lol, Oh Lucylin, But if your argument is based on a fictional inescapable world, well of course it can be what ever you want it to be. You win hands down.

It's impossible for me to enter into the idea that this is something I need to rail against as everywhere in life there are unfair situations, bullies, and pecking orders that are either based on money, strength, skills, influence etc. and I don't feel responsible to fix others or set them straight. In fact once I've learned that a person or group is resistant to hearing opposing ideas or having a discussion, I rarely feel any desire or need to speak with them at all. I don't like beating my head against the wall either.

If my kids or grand kids were in a society like the one you speak of and couldn't escape I hope they would have enough savvy to not commit suicide or to rush at armed Guards swinging a sword. I would rather they find ways to live a successful happy life with the cards they were dealt and working on solutions, in fact, here in the US, sometimes it feels like we've been dealt exactly that.

I disagree with some of the actions and inaction of the stakeholders too, but also based on the potential of the project when it started, I think the price and their own disdain of the project they are holders in is their reward. If they make bad choices and as you pointed out, the project doesn't grow they have gotten what they deserve. If they make excellent choices they will likely also get what they deserve.

I have 99 problems and Hive Whales aren't one.


Mr. Whatsup

Joe is doing really well. He went from the oncologist saying he'll never be off of chemo to No Evidence of Disease, (NED) He's been off Chemo since end of November, 2020, and labs and tests are still clear. However, the Chemo and Radiation were really tough on him and left him with some other health issues, like a bad thyroid and low blood pressure, lack of appetite he still has days he doesn't feel well and has low energy, there is constant, but slow improvement. his scans are clear, his energy is slowly coming back, his hair has mostly returned and I am so thankful to have more time.


Lucylin, keep railing against the man. That's what you do, and I wasn't following the whole thread of posts. I still enjoy crypto and it's ups and downs, and I enjoy many I've met here, that's why I am still here. You have clearly gotten under their skin, if I had migrated dRAMA and the DRAMA token over here it would be more fun.

I sincerely doubt they will see your point, but they will also likely get bored of downvoting you at some point also. :)

Loading...

No. We have downvoted KC for 1 year straight. Downvoted heijin for now what... 3 years, and these people actually had stake.

Well in both of those cases the subject was doing something worthy of being downvoted for. :)

Like you mentioned above, you have other priorities in life to take care of, and hive is not in the top 100 of your personal priorities. Unfortunately or fortunately, some of us, can't say that. So I will do what I see fit, as per my personal priorities.

PS. I remember your point of view during the hive-steem hard fork...and I remember which side you were on. There is nothing wrong with that, but its all on the blockchain..right?

Absolutely, you should spend your stake how you like.

Yes, some of it is probably on the blockchain. The thing you guys didn't get is being critical of some of the HOW things unfolded and taking the other side are two very different things.

If you did review the blockchain you would see the difference. Not that any of it matters at this point.

You'll see I voted with the current hive team, I supported Hive.

Typical therapists say...if you start a conversation with "the thing you guys didn't get..."... is usually a non-starter :)

I don't have to 'review' the blockchain. I typically remember it :)

Since you don't know me enough, and I don't know you at all, maybe it is a good idea for both of us not to 'assume'?

Because, someone once said, when you 'assume'...you make a 'ass' out of U and Me :)

Have a good day, whatsup. Please consider tending to your 99 other priorities :)

Seriously? lol. Have a good day.

Support the 15htu vote limit!

untitled.gif

Interesting proposal. Would like to think it through to it's logical conclusions particularly implications towards combating legitimate abuses. 🤔

It will definitely help mitigate the concentration of stake with the earliest adopters.

If nobody votes votes larger than 15htu the spread on the pool should look real nice to everybody else.

Instead we got folks still fighting the bad whale despite his having swum off.
'If we don't do what he is doing his abuse will get him even more rewards.'
You remember, you were here.

Well, he's gone, when do they stop abusing us?
Ganging up to increase rewards is abusive to everybody that doesn't join in.
I can't wait for the day those folks get sent packing.

Moral responsibility , not rules - I'm not a commie - process comes after morals. (see DPoS)

I think it was the volume that got to them.
You were tagging top 10% rewards for bashing whales that no longer hold the majority of the coin, at least not in whale accounts.

The hive will be what we make of it.

Unless you are a massive stakeholder + part of a cabal in crowd - you have no choice over anything - just the illusion......You'll be telling me that you think voting makes a difference, next !lol

My posts hit a mark - the truth. The amount of upvotes says everything.
...And the truth is something that TPTB, would prefer not to address.

It won't change anything now, I don't think (I've given up on any intelligence)... but whereas all I wanted todo was air our dirty laundry in our public square - and discuss issues - I'm now being pushed off it, to now go and have to explain it the wider world...

I've been thrown a massive load of shit covered lemons - for over two months now.

....*Who , ffs, in their right mind, would think that @lucylin isn't gonna make lemonade - and profit - from the said pile of shit lemons delivered into my blog ?
Seriously?
How many notices did I post to that effect - 20?...I really did try.

The idiots.

Loading...
 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

When the gods have your number there isn't much you can do.

What I've understood you to say is that we have an oligarchy on our hands. Wikipedia is the bathroom walls of the world, and in the stall I stood in, I read,

A business group might be defined as an oligarchy if it satisfies all of the following conditions:

  • Owners are the largest private owners in the country.
  • It possesses sufficient political power to promote its own interests.
  • Owners control multiple businesses, which intensively coordinate their activities.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oligarchy

I agree with the sentiment in the post. The Hive is a very small community as I've come to find out. I had figured it had grown substantially from SteemIt offshoots years ago. With only thousands in our ranks, it makes me realize how close we are to the early days of bitcoin in terms of what we're hoping to accomplish-or what I think we collectively want to accomplish-a space where ideas that are valuable are rewarded and ones which aren't valuable are ignored. When I saw the rich list for POB, it made me want to stake POB as fast as possible. As I understand it, the more people there are on the platform, the less value the votes will become as the payout will be diminished. Perhaps I'm wrong...but I can say that when I post a video on 3speak and I get 1 view after a week, and I've done this with a few videos as test cases, it makes me feel like we are very much a tiny baby just born in the world of ideas. For Hive to be worthwhile, it will need to spread to vastly larger audiences.

If the number of minnows get large enough, a whale can be taken down. I agree with the idea you gave of the ants and the elephant. I keep a very large painting of an elephant in my YouTube studio to remind me how to overcome most anything...one bite at a time...


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thought provoking stuff as always. The only power the minnow has is to walk away. Our liberal democracies only function because basic human rights protect against the worst excesses of the powerful. There are no courts on dPoS.

'the only power a minnow has is to walk away' - aint that the truth.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

....think outside of the box a little more...there's loads 'we' can do.....watch this space ....

The ant does not bring down an elephant...but yet they still feast on the carcass...(that's a metaphor!lol)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

gross...but true...although it's not gross to the ants-quite enjoyable circle of life, I'd say.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Cheers matey !

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment